Tzarls
Authorised Reseller
Authorised Reseller
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:59 am

Can´t reach my router fron outside my LAN

Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:49 am

Hi. I have a peculiar problem and maybe someone around here can help me, or at least might find my story interesting.

A couple of months ago I set up my old Pi (a 256MB B model) to act as a simple surveillance system. I used a PS2 eyetoy as camera, forwarded the appropriate ports to my Pi´s IP and using Raspicam Remote on my Android phone I was able to check my home from anywhere. Since my ISP gives me dynamic IPs I setup a script that runs every 15 minutes and checks if my IP has changed and sends me an e-mail with the new IP. Everything worked just fine for a couple of weeks and then suddenly I started to get frequent IP changes , sometimes twice an hour. My router would drop internet connections and had to be reset just to drop the connection again some minutes later. Once I even found the router had "crashed" (all green lights turned red and no net service at all) and had to be reset. Just to be safe I rebooted all my Pi´s and everything was ok again. It worked fine for another couple of weeks and then the router started to act strangely again. I once had IP changes every 15 minutes! Again I rebooted everything (router AND Pis) and everything worked again without problems. It´s been a couple of weeks without that behaviour, but I wonder if the problem is that somehow the Pi is driving the router mad?

Anyway, a few days ago I discovered that I can´t reach my cam from the outside anymore. It works fine from within my lan, but when I use Raspicam Remote with my reported public IP it just doesn´t work. I´ve also tried pinging my IP and it drops every packet. Everything else works fine - I can watch videos, surf the net, read e-mails, etc.

Today I called my ISP´s support service and the person who answered my call insisted that the service was running ok. I asked she to ping my router and she asked my IP, which I found by using some of the many web sites available for that purpose. She asked me to check the IP as reported by the router so I entered the config options and under "System Status - WAN" there was a 100.xx.xx.xx IP. She then told me that 100.xx.xx.xx IPs are known to be incompatible with what I wanted to do (check my camera fron the outside) and that I had to wait until the system asigned me a different IP. (I found strange that the subnet mask was 255.255.255.255 and no default gateway was set, but since my knowledge about networking is pretty limited I just had to accept her "that´s normal" answer). So, first question:

1. Is it true that certain IPs (like the mentioned 100.xx.xx.xx) can be incompatible with certain services?

I also found very strange that the IP reported by the router was different from the one reported by the web service I was using. She told me that it had to do with the browser I was using and the web site and blah blah blah. But if I enter that IP (the one reported by the router) into the browser it sends me to its configuration page. So, second question:

2. Is it normal to have the router report a different IP than the one reported by those "My IP" services? Or it has no relationship at all?

Bottom line: I want to recover the ability to reach my router and check my camera from anywhere! Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

ghans
Posts: 7880
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Can´t reach my router fron outside my LAN

Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:09 am

Your ISP might be "double NAT"ing you.

http://www.practicallynetworked.com/net ... le_nat.htm

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36844
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Can´t reach my router fron outside my LAN

Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:38 am

100.xx.xx.xx is NOT a NAT address. 10.xx.xx.xx can be a NAT address.

To see what NATs are between you and the public internet run
traceroute -n 8.8.8.8
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

Tzarls
Authorised Reseller
Authorised Reseller
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:59 am

Re: Can´t reach my router fron outside my LAN

Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:02 pm

This is the result of traceroute:

traceroute to 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 1.619 ms 6.558 ms 6.845 ms
2 * * *
3 10.115.7.214 23.236 ms 27.235 ms 28.224 ms
4 10.111.3.101 28.712 ms 10.111.3.229 30.727 ms 10.111.3.233 32.686 ms
5 84.16.9.137 55.581 ms 56.253 ms 56.696 ms
6 94.142.124.250 171.475 ms 176.52.255.25 136.487 ms 134.960 ms
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 * * *
27 * * *
28 * * *
29 * * *
30 * * *

I see a couple of 10.xx.xx.xx addresses in there... Am I being double NATted then?

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36844
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Can´t reach my router fron outside my LAN

Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:00 pm

Looks like it.

You're on Telefonica's mobile network at hop 5. Mobile networks do not allow you to run servers.

Search on here for Weaved IoT, they have a way to work with double NAT networks.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

Tzarls
Authorised Reseller
Authorised Reseller
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:59 am

Re: Can´t reach my router fron outside my LAN

Fri Apr 17, 2015 10:02 pm

How do you know it´s a mobile network? All I could find looking up for those ips (5 and 6 on the list) is that they belong to Telefónica.

I wonder if they´re changing users to these networks to prevent individuals from setting up servers on their homes... because my setup worked a few weeks ago and now it doesn´t. :(

ghans
Posts: 7880
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Can´t reach my router fron outside my LAN

Sat Apr 18, 2015 8:46 am

Yeah , you're pretty much hosed. You either need to rent
a VPS to run OpenVPN (as server) / OpenSSH
(for reverse tunneling) or use a third party like
Weaved / yaler / ngrok.


ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

Tzarls
Authorised Reseller
Authorised Reseller
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:59 am

Re: Can´t reach my router fron outside my LAN

Sun Apr 19, 2015 9:33 am

Thanks for your help guys. I´ll look for a solution (trying weaved iot right now).

Return to “Networking and servers”