Fuji
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:07 am

Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:24 am

Im really hoping someone has dealt with this...

I want to apologize in advance as Im really new. So, after several long hours I was finally able to enable bluetooth on my new Model B. I have both a wireless mouse and keyboard paired to my Pi. I felt so victorious!...only to discover my Pi is defaulted to the UK keyboard layout. I found a youtube video that instructed me to type into the terminal the following command line

Sudo vi /etc/default/keyboard

And from that point change "gb" to "us" save and reboot. Only for some reason it would not let me delete or type over gb in order to change it to us. However, now when I try i get the following script...

E325: ATTENTION
Found a swap file by the name "/etc/default/.keyboard.swp"
owned by: root dated:Thu March 26 03:51:13 2015

Im not 100% sure what that means or quite honestly what Im doing wrong.

Thx in advance for any help! If i can supply any more info, lemme know.

Thx for helping the new kid!

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 21676
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:11 am

Fuji wrote:Im really hoping someone has dealt with this...

I want to apologize in advance as Im really new. So, after several long hours I was finally able to enable bluetooth on my new Model B. I have both a wireless mouse and keyboard paired to my Pi. I felt so victorious!...only to discover my Pi is defaulted to the UK keyboard layout. I found a youtube video that instructed me to type into the terminal the following command line

Sudo vi /etc/default/keyboard

And from that point change "gb" to "us" save and reboot. Only for some reason it would not let me delete or type over gb in order to change it to us. However, now when I try i get the following script...

E325: ATTENTION
Found a swap file by the name "/etc/default/.keyboard.swp"
owned by: root dated:Thu March 26 03:51:13 2015

Im not 100% sure what that means or quite honestly what Im doing wrong.

Thx in advance for any help! If i can supply any more info, lemme know.

Thx for helping the new kid!
The RPi is British product and proud of it hence why it is GB keyboard layout, if you have installed Raspbian Operating System then configuration is undertaken in raspi-config see:

http://www.raspberrypi.org/documentatio ... -config.md
Retired disgracefully.....
......to a more gentile life !

ktb
Posts: 1447
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 7:53 pm

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:12 am

Hmm. I don't know what that message means. Did you try changing the keyboard config using raspi-config?

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 16138
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Thu Mar 26, 2015 8:04 am

Fuji wrote:However, now when I try i get the following script...

E325: ATTENTION
Found a swap file by the name "/etc/default/.keyboard.swp"
owned by: root dated:Thu March 26 03:51:13 2015

Im not 100% sure what that means or quite honestly what Im doing wrong.
When you start editing a file the system takes a copy of the file and uses that to keep track of the changes. If you don't finish editing properly (using the normal Exit option), that copy gets left behind.

If you then try editing the file again, the editor will find the old copy file and warn you that you didn't finish editing it last time.

Basically, don't worry about the message. Change your keyboard and other local settings as described in the link that fruitoftheloop posted.

Fuji
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:07 am

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:10 pm

Ive tried that.

I chose option 4 (Internationalisation Option). From there i chose option 13 for Change Keyboard Layout. Pressed enter. It brought up a terminal screen, only for a moment. Then I was back in raspi-config. What am I missing??

Fuji
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:07 am

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:13 pm

Good news and bad news...

I finally discovered i needed to connect a wired keyboard to accomplish my goal.

However, now it appears to be typing in Russian (not that I actually know Russian). I really dont get it. I double checked that I only chose US options for keyboard layout.

Is there a way to wipe the Pi and simply start over again? Hoping i dont have to use a keyboard to do it...

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 37133
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:32 pm

Use an ssh session, log in and fix your wonky keyboard settings that way.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

klricks
Posts: 6793
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Fri Mar 27, 2015 5:16 am

Fuji wrote:Good news and bad news...

I finally discovered i needed to connect a wired keyboard to accomplish my goal.

However, now it appears to be typing in Russian (not that I actually know Russian). I really dont get it. I double checked that I only chose US options for keyboard layout.

Is there a way to wipe the Pi and simply start over again? Hoping i dont have to use a keyboard to do it...
You must choose the correct US options.
Did you choose DVORAK or something? If so Google for a picture of the DVORAK keyboard. -OR- As mentioned the easiest way is to SSH in and redo from remote computer as the remote keyboard will be normal.
Follow #14 here: http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 45#p661684
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

Fuji
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:07 am

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:27 pm

I dont have another computer to ssh from. Just a tablet and phone. Is this possible?

User avatar
xoopha
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:52 pm

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:36 pm

Sure, there are SSH clients for Android or iOS devices out there.

Fuji
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:07 am

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:41 pm

Is there a certain ssh client you recommend? ...

User avatar
xoopha
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:52 pm

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:45 pm

No, sorry, I've never had the need to use them so I only know they exist.

DirkS
Posts: 10138
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Fri Mar 27, 2015 4:11 pm

Fuji wrote:Is there a certain ssh client you recommend? ...
JuiceSSH

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 37133
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Fri Mar 27, 2015 4:33 pm

Fuji wrote:Is there a certain ssh client you recommend? ...
For Android I use JuiceSSH. It is so good I've upgraded to the premium version (for a couple of quid).
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

Fuji
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:07 am

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Tue Apr 07, 2015 4:34 am

So ive been trying for a few days now to establish an ssh connection to my Pi via a One M8 and a gpad using JuiceSSH. Both devices give me a long message, the jist of it is...

ETIMEDOUT (connection timed out)

Does anyone possibly have a suggestion?

Thx!!!!

Fuji
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:07 am

Re: Difficulty changing default keyboard region

Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:15 am

Is it necessary when trying to establish an SSH connection for the first time on my raspberry pi to download additional software to m pi or enable SSH to go into my raspberry pi settings at all?

Return to “Troubleshooting”