User avatar
krisnation2000
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:18 am

64 to 32 bit?

Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:47 am

Is there a way i can make 64 bit games into 32 bit?

User avatar
Jessie
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: C/S CO USA

Re: 64 to 32 bit?

Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:34 am

If you have the source you may be able to... Assuming that your game doesn't need greater than 4GB of memory. But I have a feeling that you are talking about pre-compiled binaries, so the answer is no. There is no going backwards. Most 64-bit SOC and CPU can handle apps made for 32-bit versions of their same arch, but not the other way. 64 bit CPUs and SOCs have greater per-program memory abilities, more physical memory addressability, and generally have larger amount of registers in the CPU along with other enhancements (while not related to being 64-bit) that were not previously available. Your question is similar to asking if you can run a game that requires a SIMD unit on the processor without one (but not quite the same).

User avatar
krisnation2000
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:18 am

Re: 64 to 32 bit?

Sat Jul 26, 2014 4:25 pm

Jessie wrote:If you have the source you may be able to... Assuming that your game doesn't need greater than 4GB of memory. But I have a feeling that you are talking about pre-compiled binaries, so the answer is no. There is no going backwards. Most 64-bit SOC and CPU can handle apps made for 32-bit versions of their same arch, but not the other way. 64 bit CPUs and SOCs have greater per-program memory abilities, more physical memory addressability, and generally have larger amount of registers in the CPU along with other enhancements (while not related to being 64-bit) that were not previously available. Your question is similar to asking if you can run a game that requires a SIMD unit on the processor without one (but not quite the same).
This app needs 512 MB of RAM, It would work on Raspberry pi Model B....

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 17452
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: 64 to 32 bit?

Sat Jul 26, 2014 4:36 pm

krisnation2000 wrote:
Jessie wrote:If you have the source you may be able to... Assuming that your game doesn't need greater than 4GB of memory.
This app needs 512 MB of RAM, It would work on Raspberry pi Model B....
The Raspberry Pi Model B[+] doesn't have 512MB RAM available to the OS. At the very minimum at least 16MB is reserved for the GPU, most will probably have 64MB for the GPU or more.

User avatar
Jessie
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: C/S CO USA

Re: 64 to 32 bit?

Wed Jul 30, 2014 12:18 am

krisnation2000 wrote:
Jessie wrote:If you have the source you may be able to... Assuming that your game doesn't need greater than 4GB of memory. But I have a feeling that you are talking about pre-compiled binaries, so the answer is no. There is no going backwards. Most 64-bit SOC and CPU can handle apps made for 32-bit versions of their same arch, but not the other way. 64 bit CPUs and SOCs have greater per-program memory abilities, more physical memory addressability, and generally have larger amount of registers in the CPU along with other enhancements (while not related to being 64-bit) that were not previously available. Your question is similar to asking if you can run a game that requires a SIMD unit on the processor without one (but not quite the same).
This app needs 512 MB of RAM, It would work on Raspberry pi Model B....
Doesn't matter how much ram it needs if you don't have source. If the binary is 64bit then it needs extra CPU registers that the Pi does not have.

Edit: While we are at it why don't you just go ahead and link us to the game you want to run?

User avatar
florizel
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:46 am
Contact: Website

Re: 64 to 32 bit?

Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:52 am

I guess if you have 4gb RAM then I think its possible. However, not all 64bit program are compatible with 32bit operating system.

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 17452
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: 64 to 32 bit?

Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:01 am

florizel wrote:I guess if you have 4gb RAM then I think its possible. However, not all 64bit program are compatible with 32bit operating system.
"not all" is correct in that (unless someone has done some clever programming) less than 100% of them will run on 32 bit - about 100% less in fact. i.e. none will without some sort of emulator.

You would be correct in saying that not all 32 bit games will run in a comparable 64 bit environment, but many will.

(I say comparable because can't run 32 bit ARM code natively on an x86-64 system, and you the same goes for running x86-32 code on ARM64)

User avatar
krisnation2000
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:18 am

Re: 64 to 32 bit?

Fri Aug 01, 2014 1:42 am

Edit: While we are at it why don't you just go ahead and link us to the game you want to run?
http://www.graalonline.com/playerworlds/

Edit: Also is it possible to port the window's version? Its a 32 bit version!

User avatar
Jessie
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: C/S CO USA

Re: 64 to 32 bit?

Fri Aug 01, 2014 3:45 am

Not unless the development of WINE for ARM speeds up. Which allows you to run windows games on Linux.

The Linux client for Graal requires Open GL. The R Pi runs Open GL ES which are not the same. If the source code were available or the dev wanted to port this game the system requirements are well within R Pi limitations. 300 MHZ processor and 64MB of ram. You could try to ask the developer but most really aren't open to porting to another platform.

Return to “Gaming”