tommyboy1194
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:29 am

error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:51 am

Hi so I am trying to reinstall Noobs on my pi and once i get the card formated corectly I get this on the screen
sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
/ #
did i short my pi? The only solution to this is for me to edit the confit.txt file but I can't find that anywere.
Help would be much appreciated.
Thanks

tommyboy1194
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:29 am

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:53 am

also all of the led lights are lit except the activity so 100 is lit, LNK is lit, FDX is lit, and PWR is lit but no act light

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5200
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Sat Nov 09, 2013 9:41 am

tommyboy1194 wrote:Hi so I am trying to reinstall Noobs on my pi and once i get the card formated corectly I get this on the screen
sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
/ #
did i short my pi? The only solution to this is for me to edit the confit.txt file but I can't find that anywere.
Help would be much appreciated.
Thanks
The (possible) "#" prompt you show suggests that your Pi may be booting in "safe mode". More info. w.r.t. that here:
http://elinux.org/RPI_safe_mode (Have you anything plugged into the GPIO connector?)
W.r.t. editing "config.txt" for a NOOBS installed O.S. - that is done via NOOBS' recovery mode:
http://www.cpmspectrepi.webspace.virgin ... ting_Tools
If you're unable to enter NOOBS' recovery mode by holding or toggling the shift key during boot up you may have to re-install NOOBS on the card (or use a new one).
Trev.
Still running Raspbian Jessie or Stretch on some older Pi's (an A, B1, B2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W, 2xP3A+, P3B+, P3B, B+, A+ and a B2) but Buster on the P4B's. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

rdb
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:42 pm

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Sat Nov 09, 2013 1:23 pm

It looks like you're booting into safe mode. Try disconnecting everything from the GPIO pins and rebooting.

tommyboy1194
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:29 am

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:16 pm

I have nothing connected to the gpio pins. Everything is disconnected I have tried several different sd cards with noobs and I get the same error message. When I plug in the ethernet cable I get the same message. I am powering the pi from my computer port. Tried using several different dc power supplies and the same result.

rdb
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:42 pm

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:42 am

Which version of NOOBS are you using? What display device do you have attached?

tommyboy1194
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:29 am

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Sun Nov 10, 2013 8:33 pm

I've tried noobs v1_3_2 and noobs V1_3_2 and the display is hdmi to hdmi monitor

rdb
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:42 pm

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:24 pm

tommyboy1194 wrote:I've tried noobs v1_3_2 and noobs V1_3_2 and the display is hdmi to hdmi monitor
Has this Pi ever booted successfully? (i.e. not into safe mode)

tommyboy1194
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:29 am

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Tue Nov 12, 2013 12:08 am

yeah it was working fine the other night, I was using the gpio pins to trigger a motor but it wasn't working. Maybe I shorted it that way?

tommyboy1194
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:29 am

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:02 am

I just checked my volatge of my pie with the tp1 and tp2 holes and i am only getting 4 volts of power. but my powersupply is putting out exactly 5 volts. Also i check the gpio pins i had been using for my motor and they are still active. Did they somehow get switched on and are unable to turn off? is that why it's running in safe mode?

rdb
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:42 pm

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:51 am

tommyboy1194 wrote:I just checked my volatge of my pie with the tp1 and tp2 holes and i am only getting 4 volts of power. but my powersupply is putting out exactly 5 volts. Also i check the gpio pins i had been using for my motor and they are still active. Did they somehow get switched on and are unable to turn off? is that why it's running in safe mode?
Sounds like you might have damaged the GPIO pins which is causing safe mode to be incorrectly triggered.

User avatar
blachanc
Posts: 458
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 5:03 am
Location: Quebec,canada(french)

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Tue Nov 12, 2013 2:20 pm

rdb wrote:
Sounds like you might have damaged the GPIO pins which is causing safe mode to be incorrectly triggered.
that is an interesting point:

assuming the GPIO are toasted, is there a way to disable the safe mode booting and use the pi as a xbmc or a program dev platform.

ben
Autism/Asperger syndrome: what is your score on this quiz?
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=70191

tommyboy1194
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:29 am

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:33 pm

Should I just by a new pi? Because I need the gpio pins to control the motor for my project. I am building a timelapse rig so it triggers the camera shutter and moves the motor as well.

reneve59
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:00 pm

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:26 pm

Hi, I'm experimenting the same problem. I was configuring my Raspberry Pi for testing NOOBS 1.3.2, it went well until I updated and upgraded the OS using,

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

After reboot, the Pi displays the message:

#SH: can't access tty: job control turned off

I've another Pi and tested the SD card on it and it works fine. Also tested a brand new SD card with the same results. I'm using HDMI interface, a self powered USB hub to attach a Keyboard and mouse and also a usb wireless adapter. The Pi is powered using a 5v 1A adapter (it came with the package). I also tried powering the Pi from the USB hub with no luck, it boots but displays the same error.

Any idea?

MortenG
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 12:00 am

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Sun Dec 29, 2013 12:08 am

Hi,

Try look in the cmdline.txt file, for init=/bin/sh - if you got it remove it, and you should be up and running.

tommyboy1194
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:29 am

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:11 am

can someone mark this as solved. I just got a new pi instead

Baqueiro
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 2:49 pm

Re: error can't access tty: during noobs installation

Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:03 pm

But where do I find this cmdline.txt anyway? there is no such a file in my sd card (raspbian installed).

tommyboy1194, could you control the motor successfully afterwards with the new pi? Are you using an optocoupler?

Return to “Beginners”