ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6228
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Tue Feb 11, 2020 3:25 pm

The message isn't meant to be there. It has been taken out of newer versions of chromium and should be gone in the next build we do.

Updates will be via apt, not through any built-in check like that.

Edit: For reference - https://github.com/RPi-Distro/repo/issues/165

croft
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:58 pm

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Tue Feb 11, 2020 3:37 pm

any idear of time scale

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6228
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Tue Feb 11, 2020 3:46 pm

Not any time soon. The dev is currently working on video stuff and I'm told porting the chromium changes to the newer version is non-trivial.

If there's significant demand, we could temporarily add the workaround I mentioned earlier as a default.

User avatar
Botspot
Posts: 1232
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact: Website

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:26 am

ShiftPlusOne wrote:
Tue Feb 11, 2020 3:46 pm
We could temporarily add the workaround I mentioned earlier as a default.
It looks like you did. rpi-chromium-mods just received an update about an hour ago.
Want to make your own Raspbian image?
  • Hard way: Mess with confusing terminal commands.
  • Easy way: Let Pi-Power-Tools do it all for you!
Boot your image in a VM, Flash from the Internet at top speed, Mount (to drop files in), Edit partitions, Shrink/Expand, Repair, and more. Enjoy! :)
https://github.com/Botspot/Pi-Power-Tools

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6228
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:50 am

No, that was just a new version of flash

Herbaldew
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:59 pm
Location: US Mid-Atlantic

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:16 pm

ShiftPlusOne wrote:
Tue Feb 11, 2020 2:10 pm

You could try putting this in /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check

Code: Select all

CHROMIUM_FLAGS="${CHROMIUM_FLAGS} --check-for-update-interval=31536000"

Here is a one line command to create this workaround if anyone is interested - I have verified that it stops the nag:

Code: Select all

sudo touch /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check;echo CHROMIUM_FLAGS=\"\$\{CHROMIUM_FLAGS\} --check-for-update-interval=31536000\" | sudo tee /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check
Last edited by Herbaldew on Thu Feb 13, 2020 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

beta-tester
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:31 am

since yesterday i also get this notification pop-up. i saw yesterday i got an rpi-chromium-mod via sudo apt upgrade...
is that upgrade the reason,why i now get that pop-up notification?
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6228
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:53 am

No, I think it takes 2 hours for the message to show up and should've started roughly when this thread started. If you haven't seen it, you may have not had the browser open for that long.

beta-tester
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 2:49 pm

ShiftPlusOne wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:53 am
No, I think it takes 2 hours for the message to show up and should've started roughly when this thread started. If you haven't seen it, you may have not had the browser open for that long.
since november 2019, my RPi4B (4GB) has become my main web browser computer i use daily many times.
it is 24/7 online, only rebooted, when a bigger upgrade came along...
i rememer i got that kind of notification long time ago - but i can't remember when it was exactly - it was quiet till now...
maybe the chromium standard update interval happened yesterday.
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6228
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 3:27 pm

beta-tester wrote: maybe the chromium standard update interval happened yesterday.
It's a hard-coded check for 12 weeks after the last source file in the build was modified, which was around November.
beta-tester wrote: since november 2019, my RPi4B (4GB) has become my main web browser computer i use daily many times.
it is 24/7 online, only rebooted, when a bigger upgrade came along...
I could check the default interval again, but IIRC, it's 2 hours. If you keep the browser running for 2 hours without closing it, it should pop up. The only explanation I can think of for you not seeing it earlier this week would be that it hasn't been open for 2 continuous hours.

beta-tester
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 4:46 pm

ShiftPlusOne wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 3:27 pm
I could check the default interval again, but IIRC, it's 2 hours. If you keep the browser running for 2 hours without closing it, it should pop up. The only explanation I can think of for you not seeing it earlier this week would be that it hasn't been open for 2 continuous hours.
ok, that is possible, that i havn't chomium kept open for 2 hours in a row... only the RPi is online all the time, but i open chromium only when i need it and close chromium when i don't... in the last days i keped chromium open to watch some youtube playlists (autoplay)...
(i know it is not ideal to use chromium on RPi to watch videos, because of the bad frame/sync issues, but i don't want to turn on my big fat noisy PC only to watch some videos...)
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

beta-tester
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:48 pm

yes, you are right, after a long time leaving chromium open (>2h), the pop-up/upgrade button came again.

but for what reason is ithis notification coming at all?

when chromium is customized for RPi and maintained by Raspbian maintainer, why not removing/disabling that ubdate notification by default...?
or let chromium update it self, so it is happy and only maintain an rpi-chromium-mod as there is a mod existing anyway for some RPi specific customization...
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6228
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:56 pm

It's a bug within chromium.

The message should not be there unless it's an official chrome build. It's fixed in a later version, so the next release of chromium shouldn't have it.

beta-tester
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Thu Feb 13, 2020 11:26 pm

thank you for explaning.
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

tomlister
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 10:24 am

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 10:25 am

Any update? This is starting to become really annoying. :(

Herbaldew
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:59 pm
Location: US Mid-Atlantic

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:46 pm

tomlister wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 10:25 am
Any update? This is starting to become really annoying. :(
Did you miss the workaround ShiftPlusOne posted?

This will create the fix file in one command and will kill the nag for the next year - they probably will have it fixed by then :twisted: :

Code: Select all

sudo touch /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check;echo CHROMIUM_FLAGS=\"\$\{CHROMIUM_FLAGS\} --check-for-update-interval=31536000\" | sudo tee /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check

tocageek
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:27 pm

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:31 pm

Just wanted to say thank for the fix for this issue. Much appreciated.

4:3is4:me
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:56 am

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Fri May 08, 2020 12:08 pm

Thanks for the work around!
Last edited by 4:3is4:me on Fri May 08, 2020 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Botspot
Posts: 1232
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact: Website

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Fri May 08, 2020 12:47 pm

4:3is4:me wrote:
Fri May 08, 2020 12:08 pm
I have found a way that removes the check, the icon, the pop-up, the menu item and the prompt to 'relaunch now' in the 'about chromium' page.

In /etc/chromium-browser/customizations

I added a file

01-upstream-version

and in 01-upstream-version I added

Code: Select all

UPSTREAM_VERSION='78.0.3904.108'
78.0.3904.108 being the version of chromium it says in 'about chromium' in the chromium menu. Everything back to normal.
Interesting alternative solution.
  • Where did you get it from?
  • Why not just use the already-posted solution? (just curious)
Want to make your own Raspbian image?
  • Hard way: Mess with confusing terminal commands.
  • Easy way: Let Pi-Power-Tools do it all for you!
Boot your image in a VM, Flash from the Internet at top speed, Mount (to drop files in), Edit partitions, Shrink/Expand, Repair, and more. Enjoy! :)
https://github.com/Botspot/Pi-Power-Tools

4:3is4:me
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:56 am

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Fri May 08, 2020 2:27 pm

Botspot wrote:
Fri May 08, 2020 12:47 pm
  • Where did you get it from?
  • Why not just use the already-posted solution? (just curious)
I've edited it out as it has not worked!

Despite checking with

Code: Select all

chromium-browser --check-for-update-interval=1
which showed no updates pending, I've left it chrome open for a while and it has come up with the update notification as before. I saw it the example file and thought that it might work! Plus it seems better than just putting the check off for an arbitrary amount of time.

So I will now invoke the original fix.

mercuryrsng
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 5:58 am

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Tue May 19, 2020 3:32 pm

ShiftPlusOne wrote:
Tue Feb 11, 2020 2:10 pm
croft wrote:hoe do you stop chromium nagging
You could try putting this in /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check

Code: Select all

CHROMIUM_FLAGS="${CHROMIUM_FLAGS} --check-for-update-interval=31536000"
So I am using the Raspberry Pi on Kiosk mode and I had everything set so that the screen wouldn't blank and no screensaver, etc (code below as in my kiosk.sh file)...

Code: Select all

xset s noblank
xset s off
xset -dpms
After running the code as mentioned above, now my screen goes black after just a few minutes. It hadn't happened at all before running the code.
Any ideas why that may be happening?

User avatar
Botspot
Posts: 1232
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact: Website

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Tue May 19, 2020 3:50 pm

mercuryrsng wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 3:32 pm
ShiftPlusOne wrote:
Tue Feb 11, 2020 2:10 pm
You could try putting this in /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check

Code: Select all

CHROMIUM_FLAGS="${CHROMIUM_FLAGS} --check-for-update-interval=31536000"
After running the code as mentioned above, now my screen goes black after just a few minutes. It hadn't happened at all before running the code.
Any ideas why that may be happening?
No idea. But adding a Chromium flag should not have any effect on screen blanking. Probably a coincidence.
If you're still unsure, you can undo that chrome flag command by deleting the file and seeing if that changes anything.

Code: Select all

sudo rm /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check
Want to make your own Raspbian image?
  • Hard way: Mess with confusing terminal commands.
  • Easy way: Let Pi-Power-Tools do it all for you!
Boot your image in a VM, Flash from the Internet at top speed, Mount (to drop files in), Edit partitions, Shrink/Expand, Repair, and more. Enjoy! :)
https://github.com/Botspot/Pi-Power-Tools

klricks
Posts: 7116
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Tue May 19, 2020 3:52 pm

mercuryrsng wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 3:32 pm
ShiftPlusOne wrote:
Tue Feb 11, 2020 2:10 pm
croft wrote:hoe do you stop chromium nagging
You could try putting this in /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check

Code: Select all

CHROMIUM_FLAGS="${CHROMIUM_FLAGS} --check-for-update-interval=31536000"
So I am using the Raspberry Pi on Kiosk mode and I had everything set so that the screen wouldn't blank and no screensaver, etc (code below as in my kiosk.sh file)...

Code: Select all

xset s noblank
xset s off
xset -dpms
After running the code as mentioned above, now my screen goes black after just a few minutes. It hadn't happened at all before running the code.
Any ideas why that may be happening?
Run this from command line and verify the status of xset and dpms:

Code: Select all

xset q
Note that xset s noblank is not needed.
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated RPiOS Buster w/ Desktop OS.

nst
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 5:18 am

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Tue May 26, 2020 6:44 pm

Herbaldew wrote:
Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:16 pm
Here is a one line command to create this workaround if anyone is interested - I have verified that it stops the nag:

Code: Select all

sudo touch /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check;echo CHROMIUM_FLAGS=\"\$\{CHROMIUM_FLAGS\} --check-for-update-interval=31536000\" | sudo tee /etc/chromium-browser/customizations/01-disable-update-check

Does these bootup options in /etc/xdg/autostart/chromium.desktop

Code: Select all

Exec=chromium-browser --noerrdialogs --disable-crash-report --disable-infobars --check-for-update-intervall=1 --simulate-critial-update 
interfere with ShiftPlusOne's workaround? I'm already overwriting the Preferences file on boot to get rid of the "restore previous session” pop up after the power's been cut to the Raspi. I need both popups gone so it can be used for digital signage in a store without maintenance.

peter.quiring
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 2:56 pm

Re: New "Can't update Chromium" message?

Wed May 27, 2020 3:01 pm

I have the some problem on a kiosk with only a barcode scanner attached.
Problem is the popup steals the focus and the next input causes a popup asking user to install Google Chrome???
At that point the kiosk has to be rebooted which has caused great frustration.
I've posted a bug report with Google but they just said they don't support kiosks (even though they have a --kiosk command line option???)

Anyways, I've had to downgrade to Raspbian 9 "stretch" for now until a fix can be issued.

Is there a way to install older version of Chromium?
I've tried : apt install chromium-browser=74.0.3729.157
But it just says that version doesn't exist.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Return to “General discussion”