omikron
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 8:30 am

RPi 4 Buster No audo over HDMI

Tue Jul 16, 2019 11:25 am

Everything is updated and upgraded to latest Buster, but still not Audio over HDMI.

Code: Select all

hdmi_drive=2
is uncommented in config.txt
.

trejan
Posts: 3064
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:28 pm

Re: RPi 4 Buster No audo over HDMI

Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:32 pm

Works okay here. What does "sudo tvservice -a" say?

omikron
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 8:30 am

Re: RPi 4 Buster No audo over HDMI

Tue Jul 16, 2019 5:01 pm

It says
PCM supported: Max channels: 2, Max samplerate: 96kHz, Max samplesize 24 bits.

thomasj
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:10 pm

Re: RPi 4 Buster No audo over HDMI

Mon Sep 23, 2019 9:56 pm

Wow! Is that it?
Question answered and no response!
This issue was posted back in July.

I have the same problem with the newest Raspbian on my new RPi 4B 2G. pulseaudio is not finding the driver for HDMI audio output.
Is this a problem that Raspbian has not been updated for the Rpi4 chip set?

LTolledo
Posts: 4819
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:29 am
Location: Anime Heartland

Re: RPi 4 Buster No audo over HDMI

Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:48 am

pulseaudio removed from Raspbian (since Raspbian Jessie)

....only works with alsa....
and HDMI audio only works on HDMI0 (zero) and not HDMI1 (one)
"Don't come to me with 'issues' for I don't know how to deal with those
Come to me with 'problems' and I'll help you find solutions"

Some people be like:
"Help me! Am drowning! But dont you dare touch me nor come near me!"

thomasj
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:10 pm

Re: RPi 4 Buster No audo over HDMI

Tue Sep 24, 2019 3:01 pm

This I understand but alsa doesn't even find my USB audio capture device. I installed pulse audio and at least I now have input from my stereo audio capture device. I still have no device listed as output for the HDMI.

How do I switch between HDMI-0 and HDMI-1?

LTolledo
Posts: 4819
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:29 am
Location: Anime Heartland

Re: RPi 4 Buster No audo over HDMI

Tue Sep 24, 2019 7:59 pm

to switch is overly simple

just plug the micro-HDMI cable to HDMI0 (near the USB-C port)

now was that a very hard, complex procedure?
"Don't come to me with 'issues' for I don't know how to deal with those
Come to me with 'problems' and I'll help you find solutions"

Some people be like:
"Help me! Am drowning! But dont you dare touch me nor come near me!"

thomasj
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:10 pm

Re: RPi 4 Buster No audo over HDMI

Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:17 pm

No, that was not to hard at all. One would surmise that this would be the logical assumption, although I have not yet run into anything where this was explicitly stated. It also may be that since I asked "how do I switch the HDMI ports", one might also assume that I already tried that without results and answered without condescending sarcasm.

I have given up on Raspbian anyway and moved back to ubuntu-server where I have proven the use of my device by issuing "arecord --device=hw:1,0 -f dat -c2 test.wav" and was successful in recording an external event.

Thanks, anyway.

Return to “Troubleshooting”