hrsz171
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 2:07 am

Using Pi 4 With Only HDMI 1

Fri Jun 28, 2019 2:23 am

Can you run the Pi 4 using only HDMI 1? The setup instructions clearly state to connect the monitor to HDMI 0. Everything works fine when connected to HDMI 0, but with the cables and adaptors I have, it would be more convenient to use HDMI 1 alone. Is there some set up or changes I can make in Buster to allow me to make this change? Thank you!

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 24201
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Using Pi 4 With Only HDMI 1

Fri Jun 28, 2019 6:35 am

1080p60 should just work. Try it, report back any issues.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I think it’s wrong that only one company makes the game Monopoly.” – Steven Wright

hrsz171
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 2:07 am

Re: Using Pi 4 With Only HDMI 1

Mon Jul 01, 2019 1:57 pm

I tried your suggestion, but without success.

When I plug a micro HDMI to regular HDMI cable into the HDMI 0 port on the Pi 4, everything boots up as usual and life is good.

When I shut the system down, move the same cable to the Pi's HDMI 1 port, I get nothing.

I can solve my problem with a new, skinnier micro HDMI to regular HDMI dongle, but I have a fat one that will not fit into HDMI 0 with the USB C power cable in place.

Nothing a trip to the local computer store can't fix.

Thank you.

SkyRise
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:20 pm

Re: Using Pi 4 With Only HDMI 1

Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:03 pm

There was a thread (or two) on here just after the launch about just this issue. I'm not sure what the outcome was but may be worth searching for.

User avatar
Montala
Posts: 675
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:54 pm
Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)

Re: Using Pi 4 With Only HDMI 1

Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:19 pm

Probably not a lot of help, but I am sure I read somewhere on here that if you are only using a single HDMI monitor, then it has to be connected to the HDMI 0 port, rather than to HDMi 1.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 24201
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Using Pi 4 With Only HDMI 1

Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:00 pm

FOr 4kp60, you must use HDMI0, but there does appear to be an issue with HDMI1 on other modes, that we are investigating.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I think it’s wrong that only one company makes the game Monopoly.” – Steven Wright

bullen
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2013 2:52 pm

Re: Using Pi 4 With Only HDMI 1

Tue Jul 02, 2019 2:49 pm

Just cut the dongle with a knife... thug life!
The plastic switches to transparent before the circuitry is exposed so you can stop before it's too late... at least on mine it did.
https://github.com/tinspin/rupy - A tiny Java async HTTP application server.

Return to “Beginners”