planteg
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:04 pm

Apache2 error about ${APACHE_RUN_DIR} not set

Tue May 07, 2019 8:32 pm

Hi,

on latest Raspbian stretch, April 2018, I got this error after installing apache2:

Code: Select all

[Tue May 07 16:07:12.221849 2019] [core:warn] [pid 1067] AH00111: Config variable ${APACHE_RUN_DIR} is not defined
apache2: Syntax error on line 80 of /etc/apache2/apache2.conf: DefaultRuntimeDir must be a valid directory, absolute or relative to ServerRoot
I get the same error when running

Code: Select all

apache2 -S
Where is that variable supposed to be defined ? I installed apache2 on previous version of Raspbian and never got that error.

Things is apache2 seems to run fine because if I enter localhost in the browser, the page is correctly displayed.

Many thanks

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 38825
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Apache2 error about ${APACHE_RUN_DIR} not set

Tue May 07, 2019 10:02 pm

Use
sudo systemctl start apache2
or
sudo apachectl start
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

planteg
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:04 pm

Re: Apache2 error about ${APACHE_RUN_DIR} not set

Tue May 07, 2019 10:31 pm

Dougie,

I found out here https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=879571 that now we must use apacthe2ctrl as you noted.

Does that mean that the installation is wrong stating that the variable is not set ? Running

Code: Select all

apache2ctrl -S
states that

Code: Select all

ServerRoot: "/etc/apache2"
Thanks

Gilles Plante

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 38825
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Apache2 error about ${APACHE_RUN_DIR} not set

Tue May 07, 2019 10:46 pm

The systemd stuff sets the right environment variables on Raspbian Stretch systems.

Just use sudo systemctl start apache2.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All non-medical doctors are on my foes list.

Return to “Networking and servers”