Hello Btidey;btidey wrote: ↑Wed Nov 15, 2017 4:15 pmThere is no specific configuration for this at the moment. To work out what might work here I need to understand a bit more what untouchable means and what the possibilities are.CharlyDelta wrote: ↑Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:53 pm
Thank you for your response, Btidey.
We are 5 'operators' with USB keys and we go on the site to manually transfer videos and delete the others not used. But, the thunbnail timelapse is very vulnerable to being deleted by distraction. How can I configure it to be untouchable?
I assume the problem is that you are manually maintaining the recordings by deleting unwanted videos and still images, and want to prevent inadvertent deletion of the time lapse recordings, but I guess these need to be removed at some point.
One of the issues here are that are multiple ways recordings can be removed.
a) Delete icon on the thumbnail view
b) Delete selected after selecting thumbnails
c) Delete button after a recording is displayed in larger playback box after clicking on thumbnail
d) Delete All button (after a confirmation)
It is quite tricky to add a confirmation dialog specific to lapse recordings onto the first three as this is only known back at the server after the request has been made.
Here are a few possibilities that might help.
1) Write protect lapse thumbnail and images after capture. This would hard protect them from accidental deletion and also automatic purging but there would be no obvious way from the web side to 'release' them. This could be achieved today by using a simple macro.
2) Add an extra filter option to the list on the preview screen. This currently does Videos and Images, Videos Only, Images Only where Images includes both singles and time lapse. It would be possible to have a Hide lapses so that the lapse thumbnails would not be shown and therefore couldn't be deleted from that filtered view except by Delete All
3) Add an extra setting so that any delete action back at the server is ineffective for time lapse recordings. There wouldn't be any obvious effect at the client other than the lapse recording remains. So for example, if a video and time lapse were selected and deleted then the video would go and the time lapse remain. The setting would need to be cleared prior to any time lapse deletions needed. Note that Delete All bypasses this but has the confirm check anyway.
The other thing to think about is whether the schedule purge system can be used to do at least some of this stuff fairly automatically. One can set retention hours separately for video, image and time lapse and arrange that storage space is always available but give extra priority to lapse recordings.
Let me know what might work and I'll see what may be possible.
Indeed, the Time-lapse icon must not be erasable by anyone other than me.
Option 1 seems to me the easiest to do and I can easily access the system through SSH.
Thank you for your help.