yunkyoung
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:27 am

1080x1200 display

Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:28 pm

I want to use 1080x1200 display module.

I set as below.
-----------------------------------------------
/boot/config.txt

hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=87

hdmi_cvt=1080 1200 90 0 0 1 1
-----------------------------------------------
But after reboot the resolution is 1080x601.
Anyone know how I can set the 1080x1200 resoltion?

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 11063
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: 1080x1200 display

Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:45 pm

Hmmm... Two things kind of jump out at me...
1. That's an unusual geometry. Could you post a link to the display?
2. By ordering the parameters the way you have, it implies that you are using it in "portrait" mode. Is that your intent?


yunkyoung
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:27 am

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:38 am

1080x1200 resolution is The spec of display.

lumsdot
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:29 pm

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:51 am

maybe they mean if you have two of these vr 3.8 inch displays one for each eye, then the total resolution is 1080 1200.
some sellers are selling them as a pair

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10497
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:02 am

how are you connecting it to the RPI?
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

yunkyoung
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:27 am

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:07 am

This 1080x1200 module has control board with HDMI interface.
So I can Connect this module with HDMI.

lumsdot
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:29 pm

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:15 am

do you have two or just one?

these are meant for vr displays , one for each eye

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10497
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:16 am

remove any dispaly options from the config.txt file and reboot
then what does
tvservice -s
say
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

lumsdot
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:29 pm

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:30 am

oculus rift uses 2 amoled 1200 x 1080 displays,
so looks like your unit should be 1200 x 1080

if they are being sold as a pair with the Hdmi driver for 100 dollars, then this could be another good use for a pi

yunkyoung
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:27 am

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:51 am

After remove display options from the config.txt

tvservice -s say

state 0x4002 [NTSC 4:3], 720x480 @ 60.0Hz, interlaced

W. H. Heydt
Posts: 11063
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:36 pm

lumsdot wrote:maybe they mean if you have two of these vr 3.8 inch displays one for each eye, then the total resolution is 1080 1200.
some sellers are selling them as a pair
The way the data in the link is written, each display would be 1090x1200. That the displays are meant for building your own VR rig explains a lot about why that resolution.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5369
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:52 pm

yunkyoung wrote:tvservice -s say

state 0x4002 [NTSC 4:3], 720x480 @ 60.0Hz, interlaced
That is composite output. It suggests the HDMI hotplug signal is not asserted by monitor (it should be). Make sure monitor is powered and connected when you boot.
You can force the hotplug line with hdmi_force_hotplug=1

dorian_tl
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 11:05 pm

Re: 1080x1200 display

Mon May 01, 2017 11:10 pm

Hi Yunkyoung,

Were you able to find a solution to getting that screen to work? I also have the same screen and I haven't found a way yet to get the screen to work.

yuefengli
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:13 pm

Re: 1080x1200 display

Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:25 pm

dorian_tl wrote:
Mon May 01, 2017 11:10 pm
Hi Yunkyoung,

Were you able to find a solution to getting that screen to work? I also have the same screen and I haven't found a way yet to get the screen to work.
Hi bro, did you find the way to get that screen to work?I have the same problem now. It can work on my pc, but not raspberry pi 3. Many thanks!

Return to “General discussion”