C73
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:21 pm

CM3 + IoT

Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:30 pm

Any experience with CM3 + IoT ?

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17302
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: CM3 + IoT

Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:43 pm

C73 wrote:Any experience with CM3 + IoT ?
Welcome, please can you clarify. Internet of Things is a very generic term:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internet_of_things
Adieu

C73
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:21 pm

Re: CM3 + IoT

Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:49 pm

sorry, I specify: any experience with running Windows IoT on CM3 ?

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17302
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: CM3 + IoT

Mon Feb 06, 2017 1:17 pm

C73 wrote:sorry, I specify: any experience with running Windows IoT on CM3 ?
It is not listed as a supported platform for Windows 10 IoT Core:

viewtopic.php?f=105&t=172902

https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/w ... iceoptions

You really should contact Microsoft so they are aware of users wishing to use the Compute Module 3 for their IoT Operating System as there will need to be a mechanism to flash the eMMC from the IoT Dashboard in Windows 10. Though whether or not 4GB is sufficient may be an obstacle.


Possibly a CM3 Lite may work, but again have Microsoft updated the kernel/firmware ???
Adieu

C73
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:21 pm

Re: CM3 + IoT

Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:13 am

Thank you for the answer.
In fact I am then just a little surprised by the features announced at the launch of the product:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/magpi/compute-module-3/
http://in.pcmag.com/laptops/111608/news ... r-than-cm1

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 33637
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: CM3 + IoT

Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:43 am

IoT can be and is done using Linux. You ARE NOT forced to use Win10IoT to run your IoT project.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

2012-18: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Z, ZW, 3Bs*3, 3B+

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

VAXpascal
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: CM3 + IoT

Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:35 pm

DougieLawson wrote:IoT can be and is done using Linux. You ARE NOT forced to use Win10IoT to run your IoT project.
Awesome answer.

I was wondering what the response was to using a MS product in general on RPi. I imagine most are attracted to RPi as a way around companies like them.

RpiName
Posts: 670
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 3:14 am

Re: CM3 + IoT

Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:33 pm

C73 wrote:Any experience with CM3 + IoT ?
Sure, here is one nice, *modern* application:

https://youtu.be/-SMKos1NxQI

For more details:

https://www.linux-projects.org/2016/12/ ... epresence/

which actually is *one* example of how to use the UV4L framework:

https://www.linux-projects.org

IoT Chris
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:17 am

Re: CM3 + IoT

Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:25 am

We are currently using CM3L with only 1 single issue...

We cannot access any of the pins that are not available on the Raspberry Pi 3, that is we can only access the first bank of IO. Apart from that it has been working like a charm! Raspbian has no issue accessing the full capabilities of the CM3L and we have verified all wiring using Raspbian.

If anyone has any advice I have tried to find support through sack exchange but have not had any responses yet: https://raspberrypi.stackexchange.com/q ... s-iot-core

gsh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1306
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:43 am

Re: CM3 + IoT

Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:11 pm

How are you trying to access them, through /sys or through a c implementation like raspi-gpio

Gordon
--
Gordon Hollingworth PhD
Raspberry Pi - Director of Software Engineering

Return to “Compute Module”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests