Ruuzis
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:35 am

STICKY: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Thu Jan 26, 2017 9:20 am

Hi,

Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board? I just got a the CM3 module (I was previously using CM1 and the CM1 development board for a stereo vision setup), and was wondering do I need to replace the develpoment board as well or are they compatible?

PhilE
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 1:07 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Thu Jan 26, 2017 9:23 am

They are compatible - I have a CM3 on my desk and it's in an original rev1.2 CMIO board.

James Adams
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 2:58 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Thu Jan 26, 2017 9:30 am

Note that the CMIO-V1 supplies the Compute Module's VBAT from the 3V3, whereas on CMIO-V3 it is supplied from 5V.

CM3 can pull significantly more current from VBAT, so if you run heavy CPU loads and/or have anything else using 3V3 it could be marginal.

We recommend removing R1 and using a wire to connect CM_VBAT to 5V (e.g. available on R19) if you see any stability issues.

Obviously the CMIO-V1 can't be used with a CM3 Lite (unless you only want to boot it over USB) as there is no SD card socket.
James Adams
Raspberry Pi - COO & Hardware Lead

Ruuzis
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:35 am

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Thu Jan 26, 2017 9:46 am

Thank you for the replies.


Charly X
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:17 am

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:51 am

Question:

For a first draft test after flashing a lite image version into the eMMC (CM3) I do not need to change the VBAT to 5V on a CMIO V1.2 board?

My current state is: Flashing has worked, but after changing J4 back CM3 doesn't boot :-(

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 17880
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Mon Jan 30, 2017 4:58 pm

Charly X wrote:Question:

For a first draft test after flashing a lite image version into the eMMC (CM3) I do not need to change the VBAT to 5V on a CMIO V1.2 board?

My current state is: Flashing has worked, but after changing J4 back CM3 doesn't boot :-(
Shouldn't be necessary unless working the board a bit harder. Might be worth doing the mod anyway to check.

Do you get anything output when trying to boot?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

Charly X
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:17 am

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:16 pm

Thank you for your response. I have changed 5V to VBAT, but no difference. No response or output from the new CM3, seems do be death. Positive: My existing two CM1 boards have no problem with the 'new' 5V on VBAT.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 17880
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:32 pm

Charly X wrote:Thank you for your response. I have changed 5V to VBAT, but no difference. No response or output from the new CM3, seems do be death. Positive: My existing two CM1 boards have no problem with the 'new' 5V on VBAT.
Try reflashing it.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

Charly X
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:17 am

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Tue Jan 31, 2017 10:10 am

… re-flashing done more than 5 times (CM3 module) - Jessie Lite (2017-01-11) - and 1 times with my 2nd new CM1 module (has immediately worked after 1st time programming). I think CM3 is something like death on arrival :-) So I will buy a new one.

ramsundhar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India
Contact: Website

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:13 pm

I have CM1 module, CM3 module and CM3 IO kit.

I tried flashing the both CM1 and CM3 devices with boot enabled.

Code: Select all

sudo ./rpiboot -v
CM3 module works fine and device is getting located and flashed, but CM1 is not even located.

Please help.
Ramsundhar Madhavan
Dazta Technologies LLP

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 17880
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:15 pm

Charly X wrote:… re-flashing done more than 5 times (CM3 module) - Jessie Lite (2017-01-11) - and 1 times with my 2nd new CM1 module (has immediately worked after 1st time programming). I think CM3 is something like death on arrival :-) So I will buy a new one.
Same process works fine here, might well be a broken CM3.

The only thing that would affect this is the jumper being in the wrong place, but you have tried that, so HW failure is the next option.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 17880
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:16 pm

ramsundhar wrote:I have CM1 module, CM3 module and CM3 IO kit.

I tried flashing the both CM1 and CM3 devices with boot enabled.

Code: Select all

sudo ./rpiboot -v
CM3 module works fine and device is getting located and flashed, but CM1 is not even located.

Please help.
What do you mean by located? Has the CM1 ever worked? Do you have a CMIO1 board to test on?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

ramsundhar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India
Contact: Website

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:24 pm

Yes CM1 was flashed with a CM1 IO Board earlier. CM1 even boots in CM3 IO kit, but I am unable to flash it.

Output: CM3 module in CM3 IO kit

Code: Select all

 sudo ./rpiboot -v
Waiting for BCM2835/6/7
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x0a5c idProduct=0x2764
Device located successfully
Initialised device correctly
Found serial number 0
Sending bootcode.bin
libusb_bulk_transfer returned 0
Writing 50900 bytes
libusb_bulk_transfer returned 0
Successful read 4 bytes 
Waiting for BCM2835/6/7
Found device 1 idVendor=0x0a5c idProduct=0x2764
Device located successfully
Initialised device correctly
Found serial number 1
Second stage boot server
Received message GetFileSize: autoboot.txt
Cannot open file autoboot.txt
Received message GetFileSize: config.txt
Cannot open file config.txt
Received message GetFil[code]
eSize: recovery.elf
Cannot open file recovery.elf Received message GetFileSize: start.elf
File size = 428476 bytes
Received message ReadFile: start.elf
File read: start.elf
libusb_bulk_transfer returned 0
Received message GetFileSize:
Second stage boot server done
[/code]

Output: CM1 module in CM3 IO Kit

Code: Select all

sudo ./rpiboot -v
Waiting for BCM2835/6/7
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
Found device 1 idVendor=0x05ac idProduct=0x8290
CM1 module on CM3 IO kit keeps looping.
Last edited by ramsundhar on Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ramsundhar Madhavan
Dazta Technologies LLP

gsh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:43 am

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:50 pm

Have you tried moving the eMMC enable jumper? Does it behave the same in both positions?
--
Gordon Hollingworth PhD
Raspberry Pi - Director of Software Engineering

ramsundhar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India
Contact: Website

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:03 am

On moving the eMMC enable jumper to "Disabled". The pre flashed OS boots in both CM1 and CM3 modules.

I am using the following boards,
CM1 V1.1
CM3 V1.0
CM IO Board V3.0

The CM1 V1.1 was earlier flashed through a CM1 IO Board. Presently I don't have a CM1 IO Board. I am trying to flash it with CM IO Board V3.0
Ramsundhar Madhavan
Dazta Technologies LLP

ramsundhar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:08 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India
Contact: Website

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:07 am

Update on the issue of flashing CM1 module in CM3 IO Kit.

It doesn't work on Mac Os 10.12.2, it works on Windows.

Am posting this as it would be helpful for the team to debug this issue.
Ramsundhar Madhavan
Dazta Technologies LLP

gsh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:43 am

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:52 pm

Ah,

The CM1 will not boot on Mac computers. This is because of a small bug in the USB communication which Apple are particularly pedantic about!

That's why there are no instructions to build / run on a Mac!

Gordon
--
Gordon Hollingworth PhD
Raspberry Pi - Director of Software Engineering

Charly X
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:17 am

Re: Is CM3 compatbile with the CM1 development board?

Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:44 pm

Now I have received my 2nd new CM3 module (with eMMC) and I have tried to boot it on my CMIO V1.2 board.
I handle jumper J4 as for my two working CM1 modules. Flashing (Win32DiskImager) with Jessie Lite (2017-01-11) is possible (both CM3s). VBAT changed to 5V as specified. Both CM1 modules are working -> means CMIO V.1.2 is working with VBAT modification.

Result:

Same behavior as with my 1st CM3 (with eMMC) board: No CM3 module is booting and no terminal output?


Problem now solved: Monitor and keyboard connected!
  • * I have used my CM1 boards always only with RS232 boot terminal or after installation with a WiFi remote SSH terminal without any monitor and only with remote debugging from PC.
  • * If a CM3 module will be used on a CMIO V1.2 board the ACT LED of the CM3 doesn't indicate by blinking that the eMMC will be accessed.
  • * The boot teminal is not activated on the CMIO V1.2 board as used by a CM1 (?).
Lessons learned: Monitor and keyboard are mandatory :oops:

Here the explanation: viewtopic.php?f=98&t=172049

Return to “Compute Module”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests