dasse
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:21 am

Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:31 am

I'm a biginner on Pi-world and I know that you normaly have to start with one of the normal Raspberry Pi.
But I get a Compute Module 3 and already flash the EMMC and write Rasbian on it with win32Imager.
now I'm trying to connect it through HDMI on my Display but I ain't get nothing comming out. so no signal. can you please Help me. it works with CM3L with extern SD but I wanna use the CM3 EMMc. Thanks

aBUGSworstnightmare
Posts: 1094
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:32 am

Sorry, but you need to provide more information!
Which hardware do you use?
What's the resolution of your monitor? Do you need to change any settings to make it working wirh CM3L?
Sounds you have a CM3L which is working fine but CM3 not, correct? Which OS version did you write on the CM3? You need to use Raspbian lite as the standard version will not fit to your 4GB eMMC because it's bigger.

dasse
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:21 am

Re: Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:41 am

thank for your reply
i'm now using the jessie lite which works verry good.
do I need the WIFI on the CM3 to be able to use the camera. Until now I ain't get nothink.
supported=0, detected=0.
Is it possible to to install a desktop on the CM3? Jessie Lite doesn't have a desktop.
The CM3 only get 1 normal USB input. That means after insert the Pi usb-wifi, I won' t be able to use my keyboard to install the trieber of the wife.
Thanks for your Help

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 17815
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:56 am

dasse wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:41 am
thank for your reply
i'm now using the jessie lite which works verry good.
do I need the WIFI on the CM3 to be able to use the camera. Until now I ain't get nothink.
supported=0, detected=0.
Is it possible to to install a desktop on the CM3? Jessie Lite doesn't have a desktop.
The CM3 only get 1 normal USB input. That means after insert the Pi usb-wifi, I won' t be able to use my keyboard to install the trieber of the wife.
Thanks for your Help

Confused because Raspbian Stretch Lite is the current release and not sure how you flashed the eMMC:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads/raspbian/

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... lashing.md


Regards USB, why not use a Powered USB2 Hub ?


Regards Desktop maybe try

Code: Select all

sudo apt update
sudo apt install raspberrypi-ui-mods
sudo reboot
Adieu

dasse
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:21 am

Re: Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:11 am

thanks again for your quick reply,
I did Flash the eMMC following the instructions on:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... lashing.md
I think I did every think righ. And and though the Jessie Lite doesn't get a Desktop. only the Pi commands Windows. am I wrong?
Powered USB2 Hub? i will. Thanks.

aBUGSworstnightmare
Posts: 1094
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:56 am

With your eMMC size only 4GB it will be hard to get a GUI working. You will have to start with Stretch Light (no desktop) and than add a small desktop manually.

dasse
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:21 am

Re: Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:07 pm

And how should I add this Desktop manually? Do I Event Need a Desktop to run the camera on CM3? ;). sorry if my Questions are Kind of Basis or boring.
Thanks for your Help

aBUGSworstnightmare
Posts: 1094
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:37 pm

dasse wrote:And how should I add this Desktop manually?
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 1#p1375785

Described here (as one possible example)
dasse wrote: Do I Event Need a Desktop to run the camera on CM3? . sorry if my Questions are Kind of Basis or boring.
Thanks for your Help
Well, we don't know what you want to do with the camera ...

dasse
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:21 am

Re: Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:45 pm

I don't Need WIFI for this https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 1#p1375785 right?
Actually the camera is for another Projet. I just wanna test it with my Computer Module before use it on my projet. its ouput fix directly with the cam0(22 pin) from the CM3.
Thanks

aBUGSworstnightmare
Posts: 1094
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: Compute Module 3 HDMI to Display

Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:25 pm

Sorry but your link is not working.
Don't understand what you intend to do. If you simply want to test a camera with a 22pin interface (i.e. like this one https://shop.pimoroni.com/products/rasp ... 7751082058) you're better off in using a Raspberry Pi Zero. Compute module requires additional prepartion/configuration to let you use the camera.

Return to “Compute Module”