Kagre

Need help with "Segmentation fault"

Wed Feb 19, 2014 8:05 am

Hi There,

I'm new to Linux in general and the Raspberry Pi specifically, so it is more then safe to assume I have no idea what I'm doing...

I know I have a B RPi because of the network port, but I'm not too sure if it's the 256 or 512 version (I think 512).

I was able to walk through some online steps to setup the tightvncserver and can connect to it from my windows box without any problems (as far as I can tell).

I heard about Mathematica being available for download and ran the following command to install it.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install wolfram-engine
I wasn't paying attention to the part of the instructions that said to use tab to select <Ok>, so I tried enter, spacebar, and alt+o which just momentarily closed the licensing screen then brought it back up again making me think that there were multiple ULAs to alt+o. After about 10 or 20 ULA flashes I finally thought that I must be doing something off here and maybe I had to actually read it to know which keys to press in order to continue (not so btw). Eventually I found the tab key and it seemed to have completed the install ok, except the Mathematica short cut was not in the Education folder. The Wolfram short cut was in both folders and I could start wolfram from both the command prompt and the icon short cuts; however when I typed mathematica at the prompt it kept giving me "Segmentation fault". So reading a couple of the other posts under this topic I first tried

sudo apt-get purge wolfram-engine
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install wolfram-engine