User avatar
thekeywordgeek
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 1:48 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Sun Nov 29, 2015 11:35 pm

Jessie killed my GertVGA! :)

I followed the install procedure on a freshly created Raspbian Jessie image on my Pi 2, no joy. Will dig into fault-finding tomorrow as it's late, but has anyone else got their GertVGA working on Jessie?
I make and sell radio kits for the Raspberry Pi and more.
http://shop.languagespy.com/

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Sun Nov 29, 2015 11:42 pm

thekeywordgeek wrote:... has anyone else got their GertVGA working on Jessie?
Yes, it works for me.

User avatar
thekeywordgeek
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 1:48 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:31 am

AndyD wrote:
thekeywordgeek wrote:... has anyone else got their GertVGA working on Jessie?
Yes, it works for me.
OK, thanks. So it ain't the distro. Time to get my hands dirty...
I make and sell radio kits for the Raspberry Pi and more.
http://shop.languagespy.com/

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 30188
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:01 pm

You'll need to put the stuff for your VGA666 back in your config. It needs

Code: Select all

 dtoverlay=vga666
in your /boot/config.txt.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.

User avatar
thekeywordgeek
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 1:48 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:20 pm

DougieLawson wrote:You'll need to put the stuff for your VGA666 back in your config. It needs

Code: Select all

 dtoverlay=vga666
in your /boot/config.txt.
Did the job perfectly, thanks!
I make and sell radio kits for the Raspberry Pi and more.
http://shop.languagespy.com/

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:00 pm

thekeywordgeek wrote:
DougieLawson wrote:You'll need to put the stuff for your VGA666 back in your config. It needs

Code: Select all

 dtoverlay=vga666
in your /boot/config.txt.
Did the job perfectly, thanks!
Yes, sorry I should have mentioned that I am using dtoverlay=vga666 in config.txt

chuewailian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 12:13 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Wed Dec 02, 2015 6:43 am

AndyD wrote:
thekeywordgeek wrote:
DougieLawson wrote:You'll need to put the stuff for your VGA666 back in your config. It needs

Code: Select all

 dtoverlay=vga666
in your /boot/config.txt.
Did the job perfectly, thanks!
Yes, sorry I should have mentioned that I am using dtoverlay=vga666 in config.txt

FYI / ICYMI.
http://blog.queststem.com/post/12933944 ... dapter-666

chuewailian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 12:13 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Wed Dec 02, 2015 6:50 am

Any lucky person(s) who has access & tried both a "Raspberry Pi Zero" (with a soldered 2x20 male header) & Gert VGA 666 Adapter?

i.e. Able to confirm that VGA display is working perfectly via GPIO pins 2-21 (DPI function)?

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 11718
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:03 am

chuewailian wrote:Any lucky person(s) who has access & tried both a "Raspberry Pi Zero" (with a soldered 2x20 male header) & Gert VGA 666 Adapter?

i.e. Able to confirm that VGA display is working perfectly via GPIO pins 2-21 (DPI function)?
This post says yes. viewtopic.php?f=63&t=127561

doop9174
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 3:36 am

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Mon Dec 21, 2015 3:51 am

Does the Gert VGA still support 640x480 when using dtoverlay=vga666? I'm trying to set up RetroPie on a 640x480 arcade monitor, but I'm not getting any output. I've tested it on a CRT PC monitor also, and I get an image when I set the resolution to 800x600 and 1024x768, but if I set dpi_group=2 and dpi_mode=4, the monitor doesn't detect a signal. I've tried dpi_group=1 and dpi_mode=1 as well without success.

I used a previous version of RetroPie and set up the Gert VGA using the method described in the first post of this thread, and it worked fine at 640x480 on the arcade and PC monitor, but since I've updated to a newer version, I haven't been able to get the resolution that low with either method. I'd prefer not to downgrade to an earlier version of RetroPie if possible, since the current version has features that I would like to use.

I'm still pretty new to the Raspberry Pi, but I appreciate any advice I can get.

Thanks.

RobertD
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 3:06 pm

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Fri Jan 01, 2016 3:14 pm

Hi I got me one of these, works fine.

Image

B.Goode
Posts: 4628
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Fri Jan 01, 2016 3:48 pm

:lol:

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 18033
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Fri Jan 01, 2016 4:48 pm

RobertD wrote:Hi I got me one of these, works fine.

Image
Fine if you want to use the HDMI port (and OK to pay a bit more), but Gert's adapter means you can use VGA and HDMI at the same time with different framebuffers, IIRC.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

.oKINGYo.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:34 am

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Wed Jan 06, 2016 6:48 pm

Hello, I got (by request) two of the Gert VGA adaptors for Christmas (foolishly not realising they were a kit and not pre assembled board but I did have fun building it), however I am running into some problems and I don't know how to identify what''s causing it. Firstly, I am assuming I have assembled the board correctly (I used the colour coded and keyed pictorial representation recommended at the top of the page), however, following the steps I got stuck at step 3:

3. Download configuration file for the board:
wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/fenlo ... ob-dpi.bin
sudo mv dt-blob-dpi.bin /boot/dt-blob.bin

I receive the error message below, as mentioned by other members:
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo mv dt-blob-dpi.bin /boot/dt-blob.bin
mv: failed to preserve ownership for `/boot/dt-blob.bin': Operation not permitted

At which point I used DougieLawson's advice and did it in the root using sudo -i, and everything else seemed to work (as far as I can tell), after continuing with the tutorial to the end, I reboot and I am confronted with 2 black screens, no HDMI output and a black screed on my TV using the VGA input (is receiving a signal as its not putting a screen saver on). Each time this happens I have to format the SD card and put NOOBS//Rasbpian back on to try again, after 3 attempts its becoming very time consuming for each attempt, I'm pretty much a beginner as every other project I have done was via tutorial from start to finish, so I don't really know where I am going wrong, and help or light that can be shed will be incredibly appreciated, I am using a model b+ and have tried it on both the Kano OS and Raspbian so far.

Thank you

Kingy

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:47 am

Hi Kingsy,

Unfortunately, things change all the time, but documentation doesn't always get updated as quickly. It is the nature of technology.

The instructions to get use a custom dt_blob.bin were from a while ago.

If you are using a relatively recent version of Raspbian (or Raspbian installed using NOOBS) then you just need to add

Code: Select all

dtoverlay=vga666
into the config.txt file and reboot.

If you are using NOOBS, you can use the NOOB recovery screen. You can get to this by holding down the [Shift] key while booting. Then highlight Raspbian and press on the Edit config button.

.oKINGYo.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:34 am

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:43 am

AndyD, thank you for taking the time to reply, just to confirm, is he step youve mentioned just taking place of step 3 and continuing with the rest of the steps, or just edit the config file, save and reboot?

Thanks again!

Kingy

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:12 am

Sorry, I didn't realise where you got those steps from. I will send a message to @mahjongg to see if he will change his original post.

So, forget steps 1 - 3, these are no longer required.

4. Add settings for the board to /boot/config.txt

Code: Select all

sudo nano /boot/config.txt
and add the following lines

Code: Select all

dtoverlay=vga666
enable_dpi_lcd=1
display_default_lcd=1
This will enable the board and make it the default display

Everything else is the same.
5. Use raspi-config (Advanced options) to make sure that SPI and I2C are disabled.

Code: Select all

sudo raspi-config
6 Reboot. If everything is working, then your Pi should come up with VGA resolution (640x480)

7 Now adjust the resolution for your monitor (see this post and this one for more information). For the VGA board use 'dpi_' instead of 'hdmi_'.
For example, you could add these lines to /boot/config.txt

Code: Select all

dpi_group=2
dpi_mode=35
This would be the equivalent of hdmi_group 2 (DMT), mode 35 (1280 x 1024 @ 60Hz)

Alternatively, try the following variations:

# For 1920x1080 60Hz (1080p)

Code: Select all

dpi_group=2
dpi_mode=82
or

# For 1024x768 60Hz

Code: Select all

dpi_group=2
dpi_mode=16
or

# For 800x600 60Hz

Code: Select all

dpi_group=2
dpi_mode=9

.oKINGYo.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:34 am

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:25 am

AndyD, you're a star! Thank you, will report back once I've tried tonight.

Cheers

Kingy

.oKINGYo.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:34 am

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:40 pm

Good news!....sort of.... I have an image on my screen of the desktop but is very off colour, quite dark and the blue and red seem to have taken over a bit...but its WORKING :D is there a PAL/NTSC issue? doubtful but ill ask the question anyway. I had to include the aspect ratio change to make it appear on the screen, I dont think the tv supported the original resolution. secondly, i have no output on the HDMI is there any way of having both displays?

Cheers

Kingy with a working vga board :D


Edit after googling a spectrum image, it is as though all of the colours are not being supported, the RGB are all present but other colours appear in blocks of single colour or out of place.

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:03 pm

With the colour issues. I wonder if you have an issue with your soldering. P.S. I haven't got one of these, but I believe these adapters for sale on the Deal Extreme website are a copy of the VGA666 adapter and don't require assembly.

About using VGA and HDMI at the same time, the answer is you can use both of them at the same time, but one screen is limited. The same limitation exists with the Official Foundation Display. Have a look at this thread Apps known to support dual display in the Official Foundation Display section of the forum. Everything written in that thread applies to the VGA666 adapter.

.oKINGYo.
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:34 am

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Fri Jan 08, 2016 8:18 am

I do have a second gert board, that isnt yet assembled, Ill take more time building te second one (first one I did during lunch break in work so a bit rushed) and ill have a look at the other board, cheap and cheerful and would solve the 'manufacturing' problem. My plan once I have this working is to try and get a pi zero running retropie and the vga output, so I can play games in my lunch break on my monitor, bit ott but worth it for all the lunchtime nostalgia :D

Cheers

Kingy

QuietZone
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 7:13 pm

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:49 am

AndyD wrote:With the colour issues. I wonder if you have an issue with your soldering. P.S. I haven't got one of these, but I believe these adapters for sale on the Deal Extreme website are a copy of the VGA666 adapter and don't require assembly.

About using VGA and HDMI at the same time, the answer is you can use both of them at the same time, but one screen is limited. The same limitation exists with the Official Foundation Display. Have a look at this thread Apps known to support dual display in the Official Foundation Display section of the forum. Everything written in that thread applies to the VGA666 adapter.
Two comments:
  1. That's the problem with anything that requires soldering (by you, the end user). If it doesn't work, you'll always be chasing two problems at once - did you solder it correctly? and Does it actually work? You'll always be suspecting the first, which interferes with working on the second.
  2. I have one of those from DX - but I haven't gotten around to testing it yet. It'd be nice if someone (and that someone may end up being me) could verify that that board works and is exactly the same as what you'd get if you ordered the kit and did your own soldering.
"If you haven't got anything nice to say about anybody come sit next to me." — Alice Roosevelt Longworth

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:06 pm

QuietZone wrote: I have one of those from DX - but I haven't gotten around to testing it yet. It'd be nice if someone (and that someone may end up being me) could verify that that board works and is exactly the same as what you'd get if you ordered the kit and did your own soldering.
The original poster (vicente) in this thread appear to have one of these VGA adapters from Deal Extreme working using the VGA666 instructions.

s_cornford
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Fri Jan 29, 2016 7:05 pm

Hi,

Totally new to pis & programming, so please excuse my lack of vocabulary for this.

I'm trying to build a multi-screen video installation using pis w/ omxplayer on some salvaged PC monitors. Today I received a pi B+ and the vga666 to test the theory. Installed Raspbian wheezy fine, and got omxplayer to playback my file once through an HDMI projector just to check out how to do that - all happy so far.

Then I fitted the vga666 and followed the instructions to make it the default monitor, when I rebooted the HDMI output went black but the VGA monitor wouldn't come out of power saving mode. There's definitely some sort of signal there, because when unplugged it jumps to its test screen and when plugged in it goes black again. I've read that in normal PCs monitors being on power saving mode is usually a connectivity problem - so I swapped the vga for a new one, same problem. I also went over all of my soldering again on the board in case there were any bad connections, still no dice.

Has anyone got any idea what i might have done wrong?
Is there anything in the coding that I might have mis-typed which would make this happen?

User avatar
AndyD
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:13 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Using a Gert VGA 666 adapter - [HOWTO]

Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:12 am

Hi s_cornford,

It sounds like you are doing the right things. Was there any reason you choose Raspbian Wheezy instead of Jessie? It won't be a problem, unless you have a particularly old Wheezy image.

"Then I fitted the vga666 and followed the instructions to make it the default monitor". So in you config.txt you have:-

Code: Select all

dtoverlay=vga666
enable_dpi_lcd=1
display_default_lcd=1
You have tried different monitors. What about the VGA cable, is there any chance that the cable is the problem?

Return to “Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidcoton, W. H. Heydt and 37 guests