Kithmo

sudo ?

Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:29 am

Excuse my ignorance but I'm an absolute newbie to linux and have limited knowledge of programming in Basic from 30 years ago. I have my raspberry pi up and running in the gui after using the Fedora ARM installer. I have a couple mistakes of my own making from setting up. I entered the wrong time zone and I set the pi up to boot into the gui by default. After reading around the forum I discovered I should be able to change the time zone with "sudo dpkg-reconfigure tzdata" on the command line, but when I open the terminal window and type this in, it asks me for my sudo password. I've tried my normal logon password and it says I am not on the sudoers file. What is this sudoers file and how do I get on it ? Also, can and if so how, do I change the pi to boot up in command line mode ?

stevepdp

Re: sudo ?

Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:52 am

The instructions you are referring to apply to the Debian reference image, not Fedora.

Fedora out of the box doesn't use sudo. In order to gain administrative privilages you would typically need to switch to the root user by issuing a command like "su" or "su root" and then enter the root user's password.

Given that you're new to Linux, I would suggest dropping the Fedora image in favour of the officially supported Debian image which is up to date and in much wider use. It boots to the command line by default too ;-)

Because it's the more popular image of the bunch, you will naturally find a lot more documentation for it too.

rew

Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:53 am

Apparently I skimped over an important part of the original post. You'd found this already.

As an example for "being able to get help more easily".

For your timezone problem. that's "dpkg-reconfigure tzconfig" under Debian. As the dpkg command is debian specific this is CERTAINLY different from what you'd do under fedora. Sorry.
Check out our raspberry pi addons: https://www.bitwizard.nl/shop/

Kithmo

Tue Jun 26, 2012 10:04 am