Gomez

7.4V/2S 1800mAh 20C LiPo battery for LCD and Raspberry PI

Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:23 am

Greetings,

I am working on a project for my final exam of school, its a vocation course of eletronic, automation and computers which has a final exam known as professional aptitude test.

What I want to do has already been done with the Raspberry PI, there is a popular video from Ben Heck that shows it, the mobile raspberry pi retro emulator.

I have a 3d printer done from scratch with Arduino so I can make the case with no problems..
I got RetroPie ready to install on the sd card.
And now I am working on the list of items that I have to order from ebay but I am faced with a problem that I have no knowledge about..

What does the 20C means? I have done some research but didn't understand much, I have to send 7.4V and like 0,50 A to the 4.3 inches LCD and 5V with around 1,5A to the raspberry itself.. This is possible with this battery?

I have seen some LM-series regulators like the LM317 but I am still not sure which one to choose or if they are viable to my issue..

The main question is, I am looking for a cheap and effective regulator to downgrade 7.4V to 5V in ebay and I also want to know if 1800mAh 20C causes any issue on the LCD or Raspberry PI ?

I would appreciate any information related to this issues that you guys could provide.

Thanks very much :)

Mortar Art

Re: 7.4V/2S 1800mAh 20C LiPo battery for LCD and Raspberry P

Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:09 am

Basically what you're looking for is a BEC. I have one of them in a camera unit, although I'm not completely sure that they're necessary with the Pi. Many devices can handle a fairly wide range of voltage without failing. There should be information out there about this.

W. H. Heydt

Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:40 am

The spec for the Pi is 5v+/-5%. Even if it could take 7.4v, I would drop the grade of anyone set it up that way. If the Pi were designed to handle higher voltages, it would be in the specs.

Tage