NikoBelic

SD card seems to have lost space

Sat Jun 23, 2012 5:34 am

Hello, total newbee at all of this. I went for a 32 gigabyte SD card, but when I look at the size with R Pi running (using df from terminal) it seems much smaller. Might I have actually lost some of the SD capacity for some reason? If so, where did I go wrong? Also, probably a different topic but I don't seem to have sound (using a HDMI card and and audio cable from the jack to a tv). Any advice? Thanks muchly for any help.

alexeames
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: SD card seems to have lost space

Sat Jun 23, 2012 8:24 am

NikoBelic wrote:Hello, total newbee at all of this. I went for a 32 gigabyte SD card, but when I look at the size with R Pi running (using df from terminal) it seems much smaller. Might I have actually lost some of the SD capacity for some reason? If so, where did I go wrong? Also, probably a different topic but I don't seem to have sound (using a HDMI card and and audio cable from the jack to a tv). Any advice? Thanks muchly for any help.
32 Gig is its unformatted size, not the amount you can actually store. I've got lots of 8 Gig USB flash drives that only hold 7.36 Gig. It's the same with hard disks. Formatting takes some space. :cry:
Alex Eames RasPi.TV, RasP.iO

RaTTuS

Sat Jun 23, 2012 8:54 am

how much is much smaller
df -h
sudo fdisk -l
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

itimpi

Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:04 am