kusti8

Safe shutdown button

Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:11 pm

I was wondering if there was a way to have a push button to safely shutdown the pi since it will sometimes be running headless. I am a Noob at hardware so can you please explain it? Thank you in advance!

p.s. I am running xbian on a Model B
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't.

DougieLawson

Re: Safe shutdown button

Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:32 pm

Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

PeterO

Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:38 pm

kusti8 wrote:I was wondering if there was a way to have a push button to safely shutdown the pi since it will sometimes be running headless. I am a Noob at hardware so can you please explain it? Thank you in advance!

All you need is a Push button and a means to connect it to a GPIO pin. A small bit of python can check the button once a second and shut down the PI if the button is pressed. No need to spend £15.

PeterO
Discoverer of the PI2 XENON DEATH FLASH!
Interests: C,Python,PIC,Electronics,Ham Radio (G0DZB),1960s British Computers.
"The primary requirement (as we've always seen in your examples) is that the code is readable. " Dougie Lawson

kusti8

Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:47 pm

PeterO wrote:
kusti8 wrote:I was wondering if there was a way to have a push button to safely shutdown the pi since it will sometimes be running headless. I am a Noob at hardware so can you please explain it? Thank you in advance!

All you need is a Push button and a means to connect it to a GPIO pin. A small bit of python can check the button once a second and shut down the PI if the button is pressed. No need to spend £15.

PeterO

Thank you! Can you provide a guide for me to follow. This is the first I have used GPiO

PeterO

Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:49 pm

kusti8 wrote:
PeterO wrote:

PeterO