pyrasanth

Events - remote management and reimage

Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:54 pm

Hi,

I am fairly new to the Raspberry Pi but can see the huge potential. I have read about others running events to get kids into coding etc so I have teamed up with a charity to run some.

As I have been reading around I have started to realise the need to manage these things in terms of resetting them to a default image for each new group that comes in.

What I would like to do is create my own custom image and have it come up on the NOOBS install screen. That I think I can do...what I am having trouble with at the moment is resetting them to a clean state. I would like to do this for a batch of 10-20 remotely (by this I mean a Pi in the same room.)

I have considered a couple of options. One would be having a backup on the image that can then be restored - I had a look at dump and dd. The other was having a look at how to make the Pi reboot and then reinstall the custom image.

I am looking for a little guidance and help. Would either of these methods work? Is there a better one? I am aware I could walk around the room and do it manually :) It just seems there should be a better way.

Thanks in advance!

AndrewS

Re: Events - remote management and reimage

Wed Sep 03, 2014 2:39 am

I guess you might be able to 'abuse' the silentinstall feature of NOOBS to do this?

Silent-install gets triggered when the card doesn't have a /dev/mmcblk0p5 partition (see here and here), so in theory you might be able to have a script that automatically
  1. SSHes in to a running Pi
  2. unmounts the boot partition (i.e. mmcblk0p5)
  3. uses a parted command to delete partition 5
  4. instructs the Pi to reboot
When the Pi reboots, it should then spot that /dev/mmcblk0p5 is missing and so auto-install the OS on the card again (assuming you've performed the other silentinstall setup steps).