orpattager

PC fan control with hardware PWM: what circuit?

Fri Aug 15, 2014 10:22 pm

Hello,

I would like to control the fan speed of a 4 pin pc fan using PWM. In the last couple of days, I wrote a small python script which generates a hardware PWM signal on GPIO 18. I tested the script with a connected LED and everything seems to work well (brightness changes with a changing duty cycle).

So, after the testing I would now like to control the fan speed of the PC fan. And being a total electronic noob, I have no idea how to do this correctly.
VCC and ground from the pc fan are connected to an external 12v power supply. I don't want to measure RPM, so I do nothing with the tacho signal.
What exactly should I do with the PWM cable from the pc fan?
Connect it directly to GPIO18 on the raspberry?
Do I have to connect anything to the ground on the raspberry?
Do I need resistors or transistors for the circuit?

I already spent quite a few hours on google searching for instructions on how to do this, but I din't find anything. All the sources I found only explained the software side, but none explained the exact wiring.
So, I'd be really thankful for any answers! :)

drgeoff

Re: PC fan control with hardware PWM: what circuit?

Sat Aug 16, 2014 9:20 am

The fan will probably need more current than a GPIO can (safely) supply. You should use a transistor or FET between the RPi and fan. http://elinux.org/RPi_GPIO_Interface_Circuits

orpattager

Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:29 pm

Thanks for your suggestion! :)

I did some googling and discovered that the current of the PWM signal should be between 5 and 8mA (http://formfactors.org/developer/specs/ ... M_Spec.pdf). Google also told me that a single GPIO on the raspberry can output up to 16mA.
So, in my understanding the current should be enough, shouldn't it? :?

rpdom

Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:40 pm

The current is only part of the issue. What voltage does the fan's PWM input need?
[edit] From the spec it looks like it will work at 3.3V