Does your Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400 work on your RasPi?

Yes, both the keyboard and touchpad work
86%
76
Yes, the keyboard works but the touchpad doesn't
3%
3
No, but the touchpad works
1%
1
No, neither the keyboard nor the touchpad work.
9%
8
 
Total votes: 88
Toz
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:59 am

Scheer wrote:Did any of you use the K400 on a Windows PC prior to the rPi?

I already had a K400 and have been using it with my desktop for a while without any problems, and figured it would be a good option for the Pi, but when I plug it in it does nothing. Pi recognizes that there is a Logitech receiver plugged in, but nothing more than that. I just assumed that it didn't work with Pi, but now that I know others have it working I'd like to fix my issues.

I am using the same receiver that I was using with my PC, so it should be paired with it. The only thing I can think of was maybe using it on a Windows computer first may have messed it up to use it with Pi as well?

Tomorrow I am going to plug it into a Linux desktop and see if it works on there, any other advice?
I too have done this and experiencing the same issue. Any help guys?

EDIT:
Had the RPi off, put the USB dongle in and turned the keyboard on, then booted the RPi and it now works.

efflandt
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 2:47 am
Location: Elgin, IL USA

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:43 am

I did not have any issues with the K400 in Raspbian before, but when I did a fresh install of 2012-12-16 image to a new SD card it initially did not work even though logs showed a keyboard and mouse device. So I had to use ssh to do raspi-config. Not sure if it started working after I did sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade or after doing rpi-update (for newer kernel/firmware), but it is working fine again now. I also have an Anywhere MX mouse associated with the unifying receiver (but I used the downloaded Logitech program in Win7 to do the association).

Actually it sometimes drops the first key after boot (attempting to login as "i" instead of "pi"), but works fine after that.

I do NOT need to use the dwc_otg.speed=1 that I only needed in cmdline.txt to avoid dropped or repeated keys for my older Logitech di Novo Edge keyboard/mousepad.

qwertymodo
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:38 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:34 am

Raspbian Wheezy. KB and trackpad both work, but I have to replug every reboot.

ChristopheDupriez
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 8:38 am

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:27 am

I just bought a K400 and it was NOT working...
I added in /etc/rc.local the rmmod and "modprobe hid-logitech-dj" that another post suggest.
Then it is OK in the console (or rsh) but the local keyboard layout is lost in LXE (manual startx).
With another keyboard, it is OK in console and LXE.

pdeschulthess
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:33 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:12 pm

I am trying to get Logitech K400 working without the need to unplug the USB dongle each time it reboot. (Which is a hassle since it's closed in a cabinet.)

So far I've tried:
1) Update everything - now using 3.6.11+, but can't figure out how to do sudo rpi-update

2) Plugged the dongles individually and together into all possbleUSB ports
3) Built a separate power adapter for my USB hub in case it was power related. I now have 2A available to the Pi and another 2A available through my USB hub.

Anyone got to the bottom of this, or should I splash for another keyboard?
(First post)

fiatlux
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:35 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:41 pm

My K400 works out of the box - both keyboard and touchpad, on Raspbian, but the OS sticks to the default keyboard layout (GB). It is an AZERTY keyboard (Belgian layout) and configuring the layout has no effect on the K400 keyboard :cry:

I reverted to a USB keyboard for which Raspbian correctly applies the selected layout.

Sleep Mode zZ
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:56 am
Location: Finland

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:53 am

fiatlux wrote:My K400 works out of the box - both keyboard and touchpad, on Raspbian, but the OS sticks to the default keyboard layout (GB). It is an AZERTY keyboard (Belgian layout) and configuring the layout has no effect on the K400 keyboard :cry:

I reverted to a USB keyboard for which Raspbian correctly applies the selected layout.
There is a workaround for the x-windows keyboard layout problem:http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 06#p192606. Instead of pt use the name of the Belgian layout.

ecktt
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:33 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:38 pm

I too have the reboot problem but yet the product works so well with windows.

gpe
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:38 am

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:52 am

I've a French K400 so it's an azerty keyboard. It works directly out of the box but with raspbian there is a problem in lxde because the keyboard is recognized as qwerty keyboard. In console there is no problem. I've try to reconfigure it with raspi-config without success. If I unplug it, plug another azerty keyboard and replug the K400, then the mapping becomes good.

fmassen
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:55 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:04 pm

The Logitech K400 works on my Rasperry Pi (mod B., wheezy), but I am unable to get the swiss-french layout working: all keys show up in GUI and console as if it was an US (maybe UK) keyboard.
Running raspi-config and choosing Logitech Generic, or Logitech iTouch or Logitech Cordless iTouch or whatsoever and rebooting does not help. When I take a normal (DELL) keyboard with a swiss-french layout, this one is immediately correctly recognized as CH-FR. Removing this DELL keyboard and replugging the Logitech now yields a working K400 with all CH_FR keys correctly responding. Very strange....

fmassen
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:55 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:15 pm

One supplementary important info: the k400r works correctly as CH_FR keyboard under RiscOS....so the problem lies with Rasbian. (Debian)

prefalch
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Wed May 08, 2013 6:03 am

My keyboard is woorking, but I can´t find out, to set up to danish chars. :(

Sleep Mode zZ
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:56 am
Location: Finland

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Wed May 08, 2013 8:16 am

prefalch wrote:My keyboard is woorking, but I can´t find out, to set up to danish chars. :(
If you have already tried the normal keyboard setup and it didn't work, follow pyter's advice: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 06#p192606. Use "setxkbmap dk" instead of "setxkbmap pt".

prefalch
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Fri May 10, 2013 9:44 am

Maybe it's me, I'm not very experienced in Linux, but I have made the file, but still have not gotten's Danish characters on the keyboard

Sleep Mode zZ
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:56 am
Location: Finland

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Fri May 10, 2013 10:18 am

prefalch wrote:Maybe it's me, I'm not very experienced in Linux, but I have made the file, but still have not gotten's Danish characters on the keyboard
Open LXTerminal and execute the following:

Code: Select all

setxkbmap dk
Do it not set the correct keyboard layout?

How about if you press ctrl-alt-F2 to get to a virtual console. Is the the correct keymap in use there? (Press ctrl-alt-F7 to get back to your desktop.)

IlikePepsi
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 2:03 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sun May 12, 2013 2:38 pm

Hi,

I've got a very similar problem with my raspberry. I got a Logitech K360 wireless keyboard and edited the /etc/default/keyboard file like this:

Code: Select all

...
XKBMODEL="pc105"
XKBLAYOUT="de"
...
It works fine on the virtual console but after starting the x window system, I got us-keyboard layout.

What is really weird about that.. after plugging in a german keyboard layout wired keyboard and pressing one of the language specific keys like ö,ä,ü... the keymap changes for both keyboards to german layout.

So for the moment thanks to Sleep Mode zZ, your hint works fine for me and the K360. Now I just need a startup script executing

Code: Select all

setxkbmap de


Hope my explanation made any sense to someone.

Greetings

humph111
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:15 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:43 pm

I have a Logitech K400r which works fine, both keyboard and touchpad, but, as I have brought up elsewhere on the site, the keyboard produces a US English layout with, for example, the @ sign producing ". Using config does nothing.
Typing in setxkbmap gb changes the keyboard to UK English putting the @ back where it belongs and where the actual key shows it to be.
However, this change is not saved and if you shut down and re-boot, it will have reverted to US English. This is annoying as the keyboard is an ideal space-saver.

Sleep Mode zZ
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:56 am
Location: Finland

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:31 pm

humph111 wrote: However, this change is not saved and if you shut down and re-boot, it will have reverted to US English.
You need to put the command in a startup script so that it gets executed automatically on every x-session. I have it in a text file called ".xsessionrc" that you have to create (if it do not exist already) in the home directory ("/home/pi").
Open the console and type (or cut and paste) the following:

Code: Select all

cat > /home/pi/.xsessionrc
cat is waiting your input so type (or cut and paste) your command:

Code: Select all

setxkbmap gb
Press CTRL+D twice to save the file. You're done.

humph111
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:15 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:36 pm

Thanks, I will try that tomorrow

Done and it works, thanks. Took me longer than I anticipated and I got a permission denied on one attempt! All a bit new to me; At 76, I haven't done any programming since BBC Basic and a bit of HTML - which is why I'm starting again to keep the brain running.

RaspberryRedneck
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 8:43 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sat Aug 17, 2013 9:09 pm

Just started working with the K400 yesterday with a new RP V2

Out of the box it works with Raspbian just fine.

Tried both RaspBmc and Openelec which are offered with the current Raspberry Noobs...And both RaspBmc and Openelec were/are massive headaches when it comes to working with the Logitech K400. Big disappointment. Mouse freezing up and disappearing right and left. Just a nightmare. I have found numerous "solutions" that don't work well (yet). I've a dual-but Windows 7/Ubuntu PC, so no issues just popping out the SD and modifying any files necessary in Ubuntu. So testing the various solutions offered is easy...but the solutions/fixes don't work contrary to claims. I even go so far as re-imaging the SD each time so I'm starting with a clean slate and a fresh XMBC-based install before modifying various files in search of a solution. Spent a half a day hunting to no avail.

To Wit: Both RaspBmc and Openelec are still both very flaky when it comes to managing [some] input devices. Otherwise, they would work out of the box with such simple devices that work fine with Raspbian. The Logitech K400 is several years old. It's not brilliant new technology but it is a brilliant, very small, very light, carry around solution perfect for this platform. That's why so many people are trying to use it. Kinda surprised RaspBmc and Openelec have not paid closer attention to the problems people are having with mice and keyboards.. I even had both XMBC solutions freezing up with a simple hardwired USB mouse occasionally, especially RaspBmc. Again - Did not have any of these freezing up problems with the K400 and Raspbian.

rparslow
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 11:37 am
Contact: Website

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:33 am

Just adding my two pennies worth.

I have the RPi model B v1 and the k400r Azerty Belgian layout.

At first in the NOOBS 1.3.3 boot screen everything worked however upon choosing a distro, the keyboard and mouse kept having "sticky keys" :(

The reason I found was I was powering the RPi via a free USB port on the front of satellite STB.

I switched to a separate USB power supply (Huawei HW-050100E1W, Output 5.0V 1.0 Ampere and bingo!
No more sticky keys!! :mrgreen:

What have I tested and works with no "sticking";

RiscOs
Raspbian (Wheezy)
OpenElec 3.2.0 upgraded to 3.2.4.

Hope this helps, Richard
Richard
PI's : Model B V1: 128MB, 2 X Model B : 512MB, 2 X Zero v1.3, 3 Model B
2 X PiTFT Mini 2.8" TFT, 7" Touchscreen
PiBow Ninja Case, 2 TFT, Zero Camera,ModMyPi - 7" Touchscreen Case and Stand
IQaudio HAT DAC, Pimoroni pHat DAC

Spiked
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:28 am

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:30 am

Hello,

Just purchased k400 today, works great with Model B default NOOBS raspbian install. I have 1 issue though, f5 key types "k". Has no one else experienced this? Any ideas for a fix? Everything else seems to be working fine, pc105 US generic, ran the configuration took and rebooted, no change :S

Kind of a deal breaker since I was going to be using IDLE alot.

Any feedback appreciated, thanks

OLF
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 9:59 am

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:09 am

Hello,

same problem here.

Logitech Mouse not recognized after reboot in X. In console with GPM working fine.

I investigated Xorg log file and found that evdev does not log anything during startup.
Kernel Input devices are available and evdev is started.

My solution is to do a

Code: Select all

sudo udevadm trigger
in the autostart file

Code: Select all

/etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart
which looks now like:

Code: Select all

@lxpanel --profile LXDE
@pcmanfm --desktop --profile LXDE
@xscreensaver -no-splash
@sudo udevadm trigger

Mel
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:14 pm

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:41 pm

Hi, I had problems with my Logitech K400 not always working as it should. I am new to Linux and could not resolve the issues. I also tried a Bluetooth keyboard and failed to get that working at all, even after it seemed to register and handshake correctly. I could follow all the tutorials for Bluetooth and eventually I decided that there was a problem with the keyboard itself. I could configure it in the GUI and get it to be loaded at boot-up but could not type anything. In desperation I called in at the Clas Ohlson electrical retailer in Cardiff to see what they had got to offer and they have a Loshine keyboard with Roller ball and mouse buttons in a compact format for £17. Wondering how I would ever get it working I purchased one and trundled home. After plugging it in using the dongle supplied, it worked first time out of the box without having to do anything in the way of configuration, it just worked. I have been using it now for three days and have not had any problems or sticky keys and the range is further than I can read the screen, so the range is OK for me. It's great only having to use 1 USB port for both mouse and keyboard. This keyboard might be worth looking up whilst it's still half price.

GomerPi
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 2:11 am

Re: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400: Does it work for

Mon Feb 17, 2014 2:43 am

Both the touchpad and keyboard on my K400 work but I do not actually see a pointer for the mouse. As I pass over items, however, they change colour so I know that it's working. I just have no point of reference with a pointer.

Return to “Beginners”