RaspberryPiPerson111

Raspberry Pi No Internet Connection

Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:05 pm

I am completely new to Raspberry Pi so please forgive me if I have made a stupid mistake but I am seriously having trouble connecting to the internet on Pi.

I have Raspbian OS installed on an 8gb card, have an ethernet cable hooked up to my macbook (which has an internet connection). However, I first figured out I did not have an internet connection when I tried to type the sudo apt-get update command and received error messages. I then tried to ping google.com where it then said unknown host.

I was able to ping my laptop and received some sort of messages back. I believe though that the Pi is not actually connected to the internet since I am unable to use the apt-get or ping functions on the Pi. If anyone has had the same problem please let me know as I am completely in the dark as to what the issue may be.

Thanks so much,
Ian

drgeoff

Re: Raspberry Pi No Internet Connection

Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:33 pm

I put the words "raspberry pi mac internet" into Google and up came http://www.stephenwhite.eu/index.php/po ... et+via+Mac

I can't vouch for it though as I'm not a Mac user.

fruitoftheloom

Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:39 pm

RaspberryPiPerson111 wrote:I am completely new to Raspberry Pi so please forgive me if I have made a stupid mistake but I am seriously having trouble connecting to the internet on Pi.

I have Raspbian OS installed on an 8gb card, have an ethernet cable hooked up to my macbook (which has an internet connection). However, I first figured out I did not have an internet connection when I tried to type the sudo apt-get update command and received error messages. I then tried to ping google.com where it then said unknown host.