andies
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:12 pm
Location: Berlin

WLAN, LAN, Bridge and RPi as Wifi-AP

Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:11 pm

I want to set up my RPi as an Wifi-AP. I do not need DHCP on the Pi, a simple forwarding is ok. So I set up bridge-utils with the following /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
#---------
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.2.2
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.2.1
#---------
allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet manual
#---------
iface default inet dhcp
#---------
auto br0
iface br0 inet dhcp
bridge_ports eth0 wlan0
bridge_fd 0
bridge_stp no

What I am wondering now: Is it necessary to give both the bridge as well as eth0 an IP-adress? Or would it be enough just to set bridge to manual? I have read various manuals and websites and did not understand what those people were saying.
raspberry B, Noir camera, Mac Book Air, iPhone, Bezzera

MrEngman
Posts: 4034
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: WLAN, LAN, Bridge and RPi as Wifi-AP

Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:35 pm

That's so different to what I've used.

Take a look here http://www.daveconroy.com/turn-your-ras ... s-chipset/

This refers to the Edimax EW-7811Un but generally I would expect it to be applicable to others as well.


MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

andies
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:12 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: WLAN, LAN, Bridge and RPi as Wifi-AP

Sun Jun 01, 2014 8:09 pm

I have used this as well. What I do not understand (and what caused problems with my RPi) was the code in

Code: Select all

#wired adapter
iface eth0 inet dhcp
#bridge
auto br0
iface br0 inet dhcp
bridge_ports eth0 wlan0
There, an "auto eth0" is missing. Why is eth0 not loaded automatically? Also, eth0 and bridge get IP-adresses (using DHCP) - and my question was: Are both IPs necessary? Or only one?
raspberry B, Noir camera, Mac Book Air, iPhone, Bezzera

MrEngman
Posts: 4034
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: WLAN, LAN, Bridge and RPi as Wifi-AP

Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:16 pm

eth0 by default is loaded automatically by some program I forget the name of and doesn't need the auto eth0 to bring it up.


MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

Return to “Beginners”