croww3313
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:47 pm

Creating Image on Windows First

Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:52 pm

Hello,

I'm not sure how to search for this question so if anyone can point me in the right direction or give me tips, that'd be great.

I was just wondering if there is a way to create the image of my pi on my Windows machine first, through some sort of emulator, which I could then take that image and throw it onto the pi. This would eliminate the hassle of setting up everything from an actual monitor. I could just set it up on another operating system, copy the image over, and then SSH into it. Any ideas?

Thanks,
croww3313

User avatar
default_user8
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:11 am

Re: Creating Image on Windows First

Thu Apr 24, 2014 4:46 am

I asked the same question when i first got my pi and apparently it's doable, but requires herculean effort. Here is the OP that explains how to make it happen.
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 77#p466177
Two heads are better than one, unless one's a goat head.

User avatar
DeeJay
Posts: 2027
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 9:33 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK

Re: Creating Image on Windows First

Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:03 am

Since Raspbian comes with the ssh daemon enabled by default, have you considered simply installing a standard version of Raspbian and then making an ssh connection to it to perform the configuration? (Although most guides and tutorials are written in terms of using a directly connected monitor and keyboard, it is not mandatory to do it that way.)
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way: http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
How to Report Bugs Effectively: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html

croww3313
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:47 pm

Re: Creating Image on Windows First

Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:21 pm

DeeJay wrote:Since Raspbian comes with the ssh daemon enabled by default, have you considered simply installing a standard version of Raspbian and then making an ssh connection to it to perform the configuration? (Although most guides and tutorials are written in terms of using a directly connected monitor and keyboard, it is not mandatory to do it that way.)
I did not know that it was already enabled. That is something I could do, although I still would like to emulate it first since I'm at work and I can work on it from here. The way you suggested, I would have to be physically there which isn't a huge deal but just a bit out of the way.

Thanks for that answer, I'll probably end up using that.

croww3313
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:47 pm

Re: Creating Image on Windows First

Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:22 pm

default_user8 wrote:I asked the same question when i first got my pi and apparently it's doable, but requires herculean effort. Here is the OP that explains how to make it happen.
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 77#p466177
Awesome! Thanks! Also, I just read Hitchhiker's Guide, fantastic stuff!

User avatar
default_user8
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:11 am

Re: Creating Image on Windows First

Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:42 pm

A very good read. If you are interested in a bare bones version of raspian look here
http://www.linuxsystems.it/raspbian-whe ... mal-image/
Although you will have to install raspi-config yourself if you use that image.
Two heads are better than one, unless one's a goat head.

lazarus78
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 5:16 pm

Re: Creating Image on Windows First

Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:38 pm

DeeJay wrote:Since Raspbian comes with the ssh daemon enabled by default, have you considered simply installing a standard version of Raspbian and then making an ssh connection to it to perform the configuration? (Although most guides and tutorials are written in terms of using a directly connected monitor and keyboard, it is not mandatory to do it that way.)
Being able to run it on ones desktop would mean it could take advantage of the superior hardware for faster downloads and installs of programs.

As someone using Raspberries at work, it would also make set-up a lot quicker and easier to maintain an up-to-date image ready to be copied to an SD card rather then having to keep a "master" SD card that I have to update manually and pray nothing gets screwed up, least I want to spend the next 20 minutes waiting while re-imaging it.

Return to “Beginners”