RobParker
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:24 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:32 pm

did a firmware update using rpi-update
Can someone explain how to do this?

I've just set up my pi using the Raspbian “wheezy” release and I get the error that dev/video0 doesn't exist. I have my PS Eye plugged in via a usb hub and the blue light is on so it's powered.

RobParker
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:24 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:06 pm

Ah ok, it seems that's not relevant with the new Raspbian release. I did apt-get update and apt-get upgrade and after a reboot ti detected the PS Eye now :-)

ta2dwez
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:09 am

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:11 pm

When i tried to edit the .conf files using leafpad im getting error permission denied. also with the eyetoy plugged in im also getting the same error /dev/video0

i have tried sudo apt-get update and upgrade but still nothing? any ideas??

drfreema
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:28 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:41 pm

ta2dwez wrote:When i tried to edit the .conf files using leafpad im getting error permission denied.
In the terminal, type:

Code: Select all

sudo nano [path/to/config/file]
ta2dwez wrote:i have tried sudo apt-get update and upgrade but still nothing? any ideas??
In the terminal, type:

Code: Select all

raspi-config
and choose the update option. You can also do much more here, too, like setting your timezone, locale, max out the storage space on your SD card, ...
http://elinux.org/RPi_raspi-config

Olavxxx
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:05 am

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:19 am

Ah, nice... How many cameras can it record from?
Also, can it record video + sound? FULL HD maybe?

garym1957
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:04 am

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Sat Sep 01, 2012 2:31 am

I'm using a Logitec 250 webcam and am running Raspbian Wheezy on a 64G SD card. This is a nice setup as I was able to get it working after only two re-reads of the installation instructions :mrgreen:

GMawston
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:11 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:59 pm

Great post and I believe I have motion working...... sort of! The jpegs logging in the terminal give me this impression and I the quality is what I expected. However I can not seem to connect to see the streaming video via my local network.

I have tried both Chrome and Firefox but I am still having problems.

Any suggestions?

ta2dwez
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:09 am

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:40 pm

For some reason I'm really struggling with this. I have updated, upgraded all software. I have tried using a standard webcam, a PS3 eyetoy and a PS2 eyetoy. I'm getting error cant find video on /dev/video0 I'm at my wits end! PLEASE HELP!! !!!!

syndicate
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:19 am

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:38 pm

ta2dwez wrote:For some reason I'm really struggling with this. I have updated, upgraded all software. I have tried using a standard webcam, a PS3 eyetoy and a PS2 eyetoy. I'm getting error cant find video on /dev/video0 I'm at my wits end! PLEASE HELP!! !!!!
Is your kernel upgraded to version 3.2+?

ta2dwez
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:09 am

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:52 pm

I'm just doing a fresh install of Raspbian now, I must have ballsed up somewhere??? Will let you know shortly of the outcome!

ta2dwez
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:09 am

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:28 am

I think I have got it working however the .conf file seems to have changed. which is the correct setting to view The camera on a browser?

GertrudeP
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:22 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:24 pm

I managed to get motion working with my pi and playstation eye remarkably easily.
However, it does not work at 640 x 480.

One thing I note is that others have only mentioned running the motion command as non-superuser.
If I do so, it reports the following -

Code: Select all

[0] could not open configfile /etc/motion/motion.conf: Permission denied
[0] Not config file to process using default values
[0] Motion 3.2.12 Started
...
[1] Adjusting resolution from 352x288 to 320x240.
[1] Using palette YUYV (320x240) bytesperlines 640 sizeimage 153600 colorspace 00000008
...
To get it to heed the /etc/motion/motion.conf settings, I have to -
sudo motion

Doing this seems to work fine, so long as the resolution specified is no larger than 320 x 240. I can see it dumping out jpgs when it detects movement, I can see the live stream on 8081 and I can see the admin/configuration web page too.
However, as soon as I try to run it at 640 x 480 (the resolution of the playstation eye), it reports errors.

Code: Select all

$ sudo motion -n
[0] Processing thread 0 - config file /etc/motion/motion.conf
[0] Motion 3.2.12 Started
[0] ffmpeg LIBAVCODEC_BUILD 3482368 LIBAVFORMAT_BUILD 3478784
[0] Thread 1 is from /etc/motion/motion.conf
[0] motion-httpd/3.2.12 running, accepting connections
[0] motion-httpd: waiting for data on port TCP 8080
[1] Thread 1 started
[1] cap.driver: "ov534"
[1] cap.card: "USB Camera-B3.03.09.3"
[1] cap.bus_info: "usb-bcm2708_usb-1.3.2.1"
[1] cap.capabilities=0x05000001
[1] - VIDEO_CAPTURE
[1] - READWRITE
[1] - STREAMING
[1] Config palette index 8 (YU12) doesn't work.
[1] Supported palettes:
[1] 0: YUYV (YUYV)
[1] Selected palette YUYV
[1] Test palette YUYV (640x480)
[1] Using palette YUYV (640x480) bytesperlines 1280 sizeimage 614400 colorspace 00000008
[1] found control 0x00980900, "Brightness", range 0,255
[1]     "Brightness", default 0, current 0
[1] found control 0x00980901, "Contrast", range 0,255
[1]     "Contrast", default 32, current 32
[1] found control 0x00980911, "Exposure", range 0,255
[1]     "Exposure", default 120, current 120
[1] found control 0x00980912, "Auto Gain", range 0,1
[1]     "Auto Gain", default 1, current 1
[1] found control 0x00980913, "Main Gain", range 0,63
[1]     "Main Gain", default 20, current 20
[1] mmap information:
[1] frames=4
[1] 0 length=614400
[1] 1 length=614400
[1] 2 length=614400
[1] 3 length=614400
[1] Using V4L2
[1] Resizing pre_capture buffer to 1 items
[1] v4l2_next: VIDIOC_DQBUF: EIO (s->pframe 0): Input/output error
[1] v4l2_next: VIDIOC_QBUF: Invalid argument
[1] v4l2_next: VIDIOC_QBUF: Invalid argument
The output is almost identical to that of my successful 320 x 240 configuration. Just showing the few differences -

Code: Select all

...
[1] Test palette YUYV (320x240)
[1] Using palette YUYV (320x240) bytesperlines 640 sizeimage 153600 colorspace 00000008
...
[1] frames=4
[1] 0 length=155648
[1] 1 length=155648
[1] 2 length=155648
[1] 3 length=155648
...
[1] Resizing pre_capture buffer to 1 items
[1] Started stream webcam server in port 8081
So, the 640x480 version appears to break just after the "Resizing pre_capture buffer..." and before "Started stream webcam server ...". I wonder whether an internal buffer has failed to be allocated at the larger size but then why would no one else get this?

I'm running the 28-10-2012 wheezy rasbian image (with recent update/upgrade) on a Model B (Rev.2) with plenty of filesystem space but I see there's a new one (16-12-2012) which I'll try... However, I'm interested to know if anyone else with a playstation eye does or, especially, does not have this issue. Are there any visible differences between my broken 640 x 480 configured output and yours? Any ideas before I try to figure out how to learn to debug this?

User avatar
peepo
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:36 am

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:33 am

Did anyone find way to change frame rate?

PS3 eyecam has maximum frame rate of 120, probably at low resolution,

does anyone have data or chart of fps against resolutions achieved?

did anyone save frames and check them?
there is a question whether some frames are just duplicates in some arrangements.

regards

samad64
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:36 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:41 pm

GertrudeP,

I was able to get my PS eye working on the same setup @ 640x480 - the only difference appears to be the following 2 lines.

cap.driver: "ov534"
cap.card: "USB Camera-B4.09.24.1"
cap.bus_info: "usb-bcm2708-usb-1.2"
cap.capabilities=0x05000001

The card & bus info is different compared to yours.
I do see significant amounts of artifacts in the video - corrupted frames, etc. I'd say nearly 25% of frames are corrupt. I'm running the device as NTSC if that makes any difference.

For the time being, I have dropped the rez down to 320x240 to compare against my captures at 640x480.

GertrudeP
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:22 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:25 am

Thanks for the information samad64.
That is interesting; strange that there seem to be hardware differences between what would supposedly be the same product.

Lovie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:19 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:30 pm

Hi, Did anybody find a solution to the intermittent corrupt images at 640x480, or is lowering the resolution the only option. I'm having the issue on a ps3 eye cam.

samad64
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:36 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:51 pm

for those having issues w/ 640x480, do you have anything plugged into the 2nd usb port? personally, I have a wifi usb adapter and I believe this is the reason for images being corrupted @ 640x480.

Try running only the ps3 eye cam via usb, and leave the 2nd port free. i suspect it will provide better quality, as the pi uses both usb ports on the same bus (meaning the bandwidth across the usb ports is split when 2 devices are present)

shuckle
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:49 am
Location: Finland

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:21 pm

This seems to work for me with 640x480 , but my cpu usage is 100% and I can only get about 5 fps.
How is your cpu and fps?

shuckle
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:49 am
Location: Finland

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:41 am

This was my error. I had set
webcam_quality 100
and that was too much. 80 works a lt better. Now 10 FPS and cpu load 80% after disabling motion detection.

This camera actualy works a lot better than my other cheap web cams.

GertrudeP
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:22 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:00 pm

I managed to borrow someone else's PS Eye, which does look slightly different, and it works fine at 640x480, unlike mine.
They are different models and different manufacturers, which seems a bit odd.
Mine is entirely black with numbers labelling the two lens positions whereas the one I borrowed has a red coloured ring around the rotating lens, with the two positions marked by a red and blue colour.
Mine says, "Manufactured by Namtai....SLEH-00201" while the borrowed one says, "Manufactured by Zastron ... SLEH-00448".

The one I borrowed exhibited occasional tearing/break-up of the image that others have mentioned; about 1 frame every 20 or 30. Although the break-up is visible on the web page, I now wonder whether the images saved to the temp directory, upon detecting motion, suffer from break-up or whether it's entirely restricted to the flash video encoded for the web page... I'll do more tests.

GertrudeP
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:22 pm

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:27 pm

... Yes. It's not just the web cam .swf vid; break-up in the /tmp/motion images too... which is what others have said, I think. So I guess I'll have to try to learn how to write a driver for my slightly different PSEye if I'm to get anywhere with it... Either that or try and get one of these http://www.raspberrypi.org/archives/tag/camera-module

shuckle
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:49 am
Location: Finland

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:05 am

I have both SLEH-00201 manufactored by Namtal and SLEH-00448 monufactored by Zastron models, but they do look like very identical. Both have the red and blue spot and red ring.
And both work fine. I very seldom see those break-ups. I am using 10 fps speed with resolution 640x480. Keypoinmt for me was to set webcam_quality to 80.
I also get sound from arecord, but it is quite weak. It would be nice to be able to amplify the audit of the microphones.

Also the picture looks really bad in low light.

malandro95
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:25 am

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:28 am

The Playstation Eye is also capable of capturing sound. Are you able to grab that input from the Pi and/or motion? I'm interested in a home surveillance solution that is able to identify a change in sound (i.e. a child crying or getting out of bed).

User avatar
QBall1977
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:06 am
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:45 am

Dear All,

Trying to get a PS3 Eyetoy working with Raspbian Wheezy (Latest Build)

I did apt-get update, apt-get upgarde, updated the firmware using hexxeh's Rpi-Update, did a apt-get dist-upgrade.

The webcam shows up as /dev/video0, but when I run motion -n (sudo as user Pi), it starts churning out errors to do with capture and then fails. The errors seem to be V412_next:VIDIOC_DQBUF: EIO (s->pframe 0): Input/output error.

Can anyone suggest what I'm doing wrong.

I've installed ffmpeg, motion, xawtv, v41-utils, fswebcam all to no joy. Anyone have any suggestions. I too can confirm I was getting the /dev/video0 error till I upgrade the firmware using the Hexxeh tool.
____________________________________________
Looking for where to start - try Kernel Panic - http://goo.gl/EEQ5J

User avatar
QBall1977
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:06 am
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: Playstation PS3 Eye Streaming

Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:17 am

I had various errors trying to run a PS3 webcam.

Until I put

V4L2_PIX_FMT_JPEG : 3 'JPEG'

as my setting in motion.conf

Before that I was getting VIDIOC if not running the camera from the PI itself, not a powered HUB!!!
____________________________________________
Looking for where to start - try Kernel Panic - http://goo.gl/EEQ5J

Return to “Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andrea.z, drgeoff and 32 guests