Androidian

HowTo auto-run LXTerminal from LXDE desktop at startup

Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:23 pm

or more accurately described...

"How to automatically run (and display) LXTerminal + script after LXDE bootup has completed (from the Desktop)"

As always there are other ways to do this.

As a Pi newb, I had a time developing a script that I wanted to run 'headless' every time the Pi gets powered up.
I finally got the bash script running in LXTerminal the way I needed and wanted it to start every time the Pi got powered up into the Desktop (not command line) and then have the script shutdown the system again at the end, waiting for the next power cycle to occur. In other words, I was using the Pi as an embedded controller (without keyboard, mouse or monitor).
I chose not to run without the LXDE Desktop in control because I wanted USB drive devices to be auto-detected and mounted/unmounted and I couldn't figure a good way to get that to happen without the Desktop doing it for me dynamically (trust me, I tried).
Also, I wanted the option to add the monitor as an option to monitor progress if desired in case I wanted to follow the script execution on the GUI LXTerminal window.
I also wanted to have LXTerminal display itself while running the script in case I wanted to use it non-headless.

After struggling and Googling for a few days, I finally worked out how to make this work (and work well).
Note: This is using the Raspberry Pi V2 B board running the Raspberian rom to auto-execute an LXTerminal script in LXDE:

1. Set the Pi boot menu to boot into the GUI, not the command line.

2. Write your script and test it in LXTerminal.

3. Make sure the first line in your script is "#!/bin/bash" (without the double quotes, your choice may vary).

4. Save the script with a filename and extension you wish (I chose xxx.shl for mine)

5. Using the GUI File manager, navigate to Properties for that file and checked it to be executable. [Ok]