chadbehrendt

Is the Raspberry for me

Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:00 pm

Hello,

I work in the motorcycle industry designing drivetrain components. We are currently working on a new project which is going to involve a brain box per say of controlling solenoids via relays. System is 12V (Motorcycle/Car battery). I want to know if the Raspberry is right for me vs. the Ardunio and or should I use both?. We are looking for a system just for testing purposes is why I'm looking at the Ardunio or Raspberry

I want to be able to say start the bike; with a push button, hold say up shift button for 5 sec to arm the system, then it starts the program (which is armed and waiting for more input commands). After system (program) is running, say I press the button again would indicate that I need a solenoid to operate and then ms (milliseconds) later turn on another solenoid. These solenoids would only stay on for the duration of a motorcycle up shift (milliseconds). Then the program would start over.

Down shift button would run a similar program but operate the solenoids at different timing then the up shift side.

Please let me know your thoughts as I want the system to operate off of real world inputs / outputs and possible set it so that when it hits a certain MPH operate another solenoid holding power off or on depending on throttle sensor percentage.

Thanks,

Chad

fixitsan

Re: Is the Raspberry for me

Fri Nov 15, 2013 9:54 am

Hi Chad.
Many ways to cook an egg.

The Arduino and the Raspberry, or a PIC, could all do this. When I'm designing I start by writing out my requirements in real world numbers. Specifically, number of inputs required, number of outputs required, minimum response time, interfacing to relays/solenoids requirements etc.