Rando

got my raspberry yesterday - many questions

Wed Aug 28, 2013 12:01 pm

Hello guys,

yesterday my Raspberry Pi RBCA000 Mainboard (ARM 1176JZF-S) arrived and I was all excited about setting it up, but ended up reading hours of linux stuff which basically told me nothing :lol:

So I'll try to get some help here (I've read the beginners guide, and managed to install Raspbian with NOOBS)

What do I want to do?
90% of time I will only use it to stream movies or TV shows via internet (streaming sites like movie2k)
The other 10% would be streaming from my NAS (if possible) or downloading (with some DL manager such as jdownloader)

Now to the problems I encountered yesterday.
I have to admit, I have never used Linux before, and most problem solutions I have read were starting at some point way beyond my understanding.

- I would like to have a display resolution of 1920x1080. The raspberry only offers me something like 18xx x 9xx. I have read something about overscan in the rasp-config. Tried it, but in the rasp-config I only can enable or disable overscan, which seems to have no effect on the resolution.

- When streaming online movies in most cases Flash is required. This was a bit frustrating, because I've seen so many guides on how to add Flash to Midori, but none of them made it understandable for me first time linux user. I've downloaded some .install files (which only contained code), no idea how to open/install them. I've read about some debian repository, but couldn't even figure out what this one really does. The more I read, the more questions occured

- I didn't even search for connecting my NAS :lol:

Hope somebody can help me get this running

topguy

Re: got my raspberry yesterday - many questions

Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:35 pm

Forget flash and forget browsers, reinstall NOOBS and choose to install OpenElec or Raspbmc instead.

Now you can google for guides to get your streaming sites (and NAS) into XBMC instead.

ghans

Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:51 pm