Page 1 of 1

Not enough space left

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:51 am
by Joaogl
Hello,

Because my SD card is only 2G is there any way to reinstall all my OS but this time into the disk? (I have a disk connected via USB)

Re: Not enough space left

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:57 am
by geffers
Don't think it can boot to the USB but SD cards are so cheap why not just buy another.

Your 2GB can easily be copied to the new one.

Geffers

Re: Not enough space left

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 12:43 pm
by Joaogl
Here is not that cheep its half the price of a new Raspberry... And I dont have that much right now... thats why I would like to at least be able to do the apt-get install package in to the drive... is there any why?

Re: Not enough space left

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 4:09 pm
by toxibunny
There is apparently a way to have a small sd card in the slot that redirects the boot stuff to the OS on a usb drive. I don't know how to do it though...

Re: Not enough space left

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 4:40 pm
by DeeJay
try a Google search for "raspbian relocate to usb" and these two links (at least) appear to be relevant.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 29&t=44177

http://c-mobberley.com/wordpress/index. ... o-usb-hdd/

Once you've relocated the filesystem any new files or programs will be installed on the flash drive or HDD.

Re: Not enough space left

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 7:14 pm
by inversesandwich
At a Raspberry Jam, someone talked about booting off a USB hard drive by modifying the cmdline.txt file on the FAT partition. I'll post if I find some info.

Re: Not enough space left

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 7:18 pm
by inversesandwich
This isn't exactly what was told at the jam, but I've found this http://www.dingleberrypi.com/2013/05/in ... ash-drive/

Re: Not enough space left

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:05 pm
by Joaogl
I've done it and actually worked but now dont know why stopped working... and I really need this to run.... please someone help me...
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 75#p383675
the two last posts where mine describing the error please help me...