Squid

Setting up internet via laptop

Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:18 am

I'm new to the raspberry pi and I want to connect to the internet using my laptop via an ethernet cable. My raspberry pi uses Raspbian and my laptop runs Windows 7. Help please?

azeam

Re: Setting up internet via laptop

Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:27 am

Do you want to connect your laptop directly to the RPi with an ethernet cable and share the internet connection (from a Wi-Fi adapter?) from the RPi to the laptop, is that it?

Squid

Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:29 am

Pretty much, but my laptop can already receive WiFi. Basically, I want to use my laptop as a WiFi adapter.

azeam

Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:34 am

Squid wrote:Pretty much, but my laptop can already receive WiFi. Basically, I want to use my laptop as a WiFi adapter.
Ok, so you want to share the internet connection from the laptop to the RPi (and not the other way around) I guess. Never used Windows 7 so I can't help you there, maybe this page http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/h ... ows-7.html will help.

Squid

Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:36 am

Thanks.... I'll try it

Squid

Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:38 am

It doesn't work...

azeam

Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:41 am

Squid wrote:It doesn't work...
You'll have to give us some more information, what doesn't work? What messages are you receiving?

Squid

Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:45 am

Ok, in the 'Sharing' tab of the Wireless Connection Properties, when I check the "Allow other network users to connect using this computer internet connection" box, a text box comes up saying "Home Networking Connection". I can't type anything in it, and the RPi doesn't do anything...

gmoll3

Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:03 am

I just did this and here's the solution! Are you ready?

On your laptop, go here: Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections
Two things should show up, your local connection and your wireless connection. Just to be sure, go double click on your wireless connection and go into the settings and turn internet sharing OFF.