SDpiuser

Starting out..... XBMC, raspbmc, external HD, power, SD

Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:54 pm

I first must say I'm sorry if these topics have been covered prior. I still have to learn how to navigate the board. I'm a true beginner. Know computers and the programs that run on them but to program them? HA.. I learned back when we punched cards and fed them into a machine.

So a few quick questions will set me on my path and I'm sure help others that are a bit intimidated by the first steps.

If I have a preprogramed 4GB SD card and install the program can I then swap out and use a 16GB card? or does the card have to have something on it? (told you I was a beginner)

I have a 3TB external drive with lots of movies on it... with a powered USB hub can I just hook it up and play them to my TV via the raspberry pi?.

What is the difference between XBMC and raspbmc? will they both do the same thing?

My goal first started out to have my 3TB drive sit next to my TV and have access to the movies without having to access them through my computer and network. But this little device has got me interested in much more.

I know nothing... zero about programming and the language is very foreign but I'm more then willing to try.

so any advice... assistance... help... direction... is very much appreciated.... I'll be looking

Thanks in advance!

starbits

Re: Starting out..... XBMC, raspbmc, external HD, power, S

Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:20 am

First, I want to say enjoy the process - the goal may take a while. People may ignore this particular post, as really your question is much too broad, and as you suspected, each of the pieces have been answered before. But in hopes of accumulating some good karma, I will attempt an answer.

I am equally new to the Rpi but not to programming or teaching, so I will give you some general advice. You should play and discover the specific details for yourself. That is the fun of the Rpi.