Page 1 of 1

Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:15 pm
by andrewstillie
Hi,

I am relatively new user with the pi.
I have just installed tightvncserver, after my next reboot I have been unable to connect wirelessly.
When I run the if config command I can only see eth0.
When I run lsusb I can see my wireless adaptor listed.

Can anyone offer some help?

Thanks
Andy

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:17 pm
by docwisdom
is wlan0 setup in /etc/network/interfaces ?

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:32 pm
by andrewstillie
Yes, that is set correctly and unchanged from prior to the reboot.

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:54 pm
by Joe Schmoe
The most important thing is to do "ifconfig -a".

Without the "-a", it only lists devices that are "up".

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:05 am
by andrewstillie
Is there some way I can undo the install of tightvncserver?
Could this install have have corrupted the WiFi dongle driver?

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:11 pm
by andrewstillie
Here is a snapshot of ifconfig with the -a.
I notice there is still no IP address....any clues?

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:21 pm
by Joe Schmoe
Well, you asked why it didn't show up in "ifconfig" and the answer is "because it wasn't 'UP'".

When you do "ifconfig -a", it is there.

Note, incidentally, that in the old days, "UP" and "has an IP address" were synonymous. Nowadays, however, I've noticed that it shows as "UP" even when it doesn't have an IP address. I treat this as an anomaly.

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:25 pm
by andrewstillie
OK...what else can I try?

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:30 pm
by andrewstillie
Lol...I need to re-title this post.....Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0?

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:08 pm
by andrewstillie
Is there anyway I can check if I have a wifi connection to router?
ie not a IP Address allocation issue.

Re: wlan0 not listed when I do ifconfig

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:10 pm
by mahjongg
andrewstillie wrote:Lol...I need to re-title this post.....Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0?
Because you ask nicely... ;)

Re: Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:47 pm
by andrewstillie
My apologies not missing my manners....Please and thank you added to all previous posts. ;)

Re: Can anyone help me fix WiFi connection on wlan0

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:27 pm
by jaylongley
if your wireless is setup properly and your vnc is too, did you set your tightvncserver to start on boot?