gubach22
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:11 am

HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:35 am

Hello, I connected the RPi for the first time to a TV monitor with HDMI but I got "No Signal". I tried it on several chanels and cables with no luck. Other computers work fine with the TV and the cables so there can not be the problem. Then I tried a computer monitor with HDMI also with no monitor image (I have not tested the video output of the RPi because no cables are available at the moment). What is happening?

Tirpitz
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:55 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL

Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:59 am

I presume, you have installed your selected OS on SD card. Boot sector of the SD card is normally accessible from Windows, so you can edit file config.txt. What you maybe need?
Add into config.txt this line:

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
I experienced similar problem on one older LCD TV and this procedure helped.

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9556
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL

Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:31 pm

do note that without a correctly booting sd-card no video will be put out at all!

gubach22
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:11 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL

Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:21 pm

The hint to the SD Card was right. I have made a new one and the TV can be used now. Thanks!

decates
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:21 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:05 am

Just to confirm, this worked for me too. Oddly, my old HDMI TV worked fine without, but a brand new BenQ monitor required this fix.

sshipway
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:47 am

I've investigated a problem similar to this one for a couple of weeks now.

The Pi outputs a relatively weak HDMI signal. Some devices may not immediately notice the Pi's HDMI or may not do the negotiation.
Setting the hdmi_force_hotplug=1 makes sure the Pi believes the monitor/TV is really there.
You might also need to set config_hdmi_boost=4 or even higher (up to 9) if your display needs a stronger signal.
If the display is a computer monitor, use hdmi_group=1 and if it is an older TV, try hdmi_group=2.
Do not set hdmi_safe=1 as that overrides many of the previous options.
Using a shorter or better quality HDMI cable might help.
Make sure your Pi's power supply delivers 1A and not 500mA.
If you see a problem with the red colour - either absent, or interference - then try a boost. However it might simply be that the display requires a stronger signal than the Pi can give.

pjc123
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:37 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:49 am

sshipway wrote:I've investigated a problem similar to this one for a couple of weeks now.

The Pi outputs a relatively weak HDMI signal. Some devices may not immediately notice the Pi's HDMI or may not do the negotiation.
Setting the hdmi_force_hotplug=1 makes sure the Pi believes the monitor/TV is really there.
You might also need to set config_hdmi_boost=4 or even higher (up to 9) if your display needs a stronger signal.
If the display is a computer monitor, use hdmi_group=1 and if it is an older TV, try hdmi_group=2.
Do not set hdmi_safe=1 as that overrides many of the previous options.
Using a shorter or better quality HDMI cable might help.
Make sure your Pi's power supply delivers 1A and not 500mA.
If you see a problem with the red colour - either absent, or interference - then try a boost. However it might simply be that the display requires a stronger signal than the Pi can give.
Or you could have just read the R-Pi Troubleshooting Guide like I did when fixing the same HDMI problem in just a couple of minutes:

http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting
My Raspberry Pi Project Page:
http://www.flaminghellmet.com/launch/

AndyGadget
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:46 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:48 am

Tirpitz fixed it for me - all I needed to do was add the extra line to the config file and I could see it boot up
Many thanks

fradaxx
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:54 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:00 pm

This solved my problem with my ASUS HDMI monitor!
Thanks from an absolute newbie with Raspberry Pi!

mike.g3
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:29 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Fri Dec 06, 2013 6:57 pm

I just bought the Model B today and had this problem. I'm using a ViewSonic monitor with an HDMI connection. I did not have to change any of the configuration files. All I did was remove the SD card and reboot and the monitor acquired the signal.

bugfarm
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 11:38 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sat Apr 26, 2014 11:44 pm

Thanks! This resolved the "no video" problem for me and was such an easy fix. Much appreciated.

User avatar
3BX
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 8:58 pm
Location: San Diego, California
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed May 28, 2014 6:58 pm

Thanks for the tip. This worked for me, as stated above.
Uncomment in config.txt
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

rahult
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 7:30 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:40 am

i refered:
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... on_display
there is a point:
Check that you have correctly written a Raspberry Pi image to the card by using a MAC or PC and browse for the following files:
bootcode.bin
fixup.dat
start.elf amongst others


i could not find fixup.dat and start.elf files in my image. :(

plus there isnt any config.txt file too..

rosignol
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 3:14 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Jun 24, 2015 9:30 am

I have a similar problem my Pi (older version) stopped displaying videos
the SD card works ok with a different Pi (same model) I have 4 cards (1is xbmc) none are able to display, eg "no signal"
on the problem Pi but all work on the other one.
at the time of failing I was testing a looped video on xbmc

any ideas?

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 29760
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Jun 24, 2015 10:04 am

rahult wrote:i refered:
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... on_display
there is a point:
Check that you have correctly written a Raspberry Pi image to the card by using a MAC or PC and browse for the following files:
bootcode.bin
fixup.dat
start.elf amongst others


i could not find fixup.dat and start.elf files in my image. :(

plus there isnt any config.txt file too..
That wiki page is a load of old junk, because NOOBS hides those things in a different partition.

Take a look a partition #1 and #5 on your SDCard.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.

Jeferson
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:49 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:34 pm

I have tried all the solutions listed here still I'm not getting any display.

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9556
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:15 pm

read the boot problem sticky!
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=58151

Robertsthlm
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:24 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:37 am

Hi,
So after my initial purchase of the Raspberry Pi Model B (The biggest model, quad core and 1gb ram)

I just cannot make it output anything on HDMI, the microsd card has been swapped and tested on a kncminer that runs a similar raspberry pi, if not in fact identical...

The Raspberry pi, Powers up, The green ACT led flashes for 20-30 seconds Before it "quiets down", No signal from my monitor, No signal if connected to the TV (The KNCMiner does output to that TV so there should be no incompatibility issues) The powerbrick has been changed between different ones, Modified D-Link powerbricks 5V 2A, the latest one i found was a huge thing, 5V 3A, but the result is the same.... the board seems to boot normally, but no video. i even purchased a 3.5" touchscreen from Ebay just to make sure there were no issues with the HDMI itself, the screen is just all White and nothing else.

So tried 2 different Monitors (PC-Monitor and TV)
Tried atleast 5 different Power supplies
Hooked up a custom mini-display that is made just for the Raspberry pi.
No Rainbow-screen. nothing zip nada.
Board seems to boot just nice. No Video..

Tried The Elec-xbmc, the Another xbmc, Some Linux versions........ just about Everything...

Do i need more than one powersource to make this thing output video ?

Or is this really about me trying to boot from an incompatible distribution.. I have really tried most things now except to try to boot from older images and such..

Suggestions people... Anything would be much appriciated.

/Robert

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4073
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:42 pm

Robertsthlm wrote:Hi,
So after my initial purchase of the Raspberry Pi Model B (The biggest model, quad core and 1gb ram)
I just cannot make it output anything on HDMI, the microsd card has been swapped and tested on a kncminer that runs a similar raspberry pi, if not in fact identical...
Exactly what model of Pi does the "kncminer" (whatever that is?) use - a P2B is not the same as the, albeit similar, B+ and needs an O.S. with upgraded firmware!
The Raspberry pi, Powers up, The green ACT led flashes for 20-30 seconds Before it "quiets down", No signal from my monitor, No signal if connected to the TV (The KNCMiner does output to that TV so there should be no incompatibility issues) The powerbrick has been changed between different ones, Modified D-Link powerbricks 5V 2A, the latest one i found was a huge thing, 5V 3A, but the result is the same.... the board seems to boot normally, but no video. i even purchased a 3.5" touchscreen from Ebay just to make sure there were no issues with the HDMI itself, the screen is just all White and nothing else.
The green ACTivity led behaviour is similar to that for a NOOBS image when connected to a display that isn't compatible with NOOBS' default HDMI setting. If you were/are using NOOBS did you try "hdmi safe mode" by holding/toggling key '2' during boot. (NB. an older NOOBS setup that was originally created for a B+ again will not work on a P2B - you need a current version)
So tried 2 different Monitors (PC-Monitor and TV)
Tried atleast 5 different Power supplies
Hooked up a custom mini-display that is made just for the Raspberry pi.
No Rainbow-screen. nothing zip nada.
Board seems to boot just nice. No Video..
Tried The Elec-xbmc, the Another xbmc, Some Linux versions........ just about Everything...
Do i need more than one powersource to make this thing output video ?
Or is this really about me trying to boot from an incompatible distribution.. I have really tried most things now except to try to boot from older images and such..
Suggestions people... Anything would be much appriciated.
/Robert
Have you actually tried one of the images from the RPi downloads page? (They all should work with a P2B, images from elsewhere may not have been updated by their maintainers)
Also (re-)read through view ... 28&t=58151
Trev.
Usually running Raspbian Jessie on up to 12 of 13 Pi's (an A, B1, 2xB2, 2xB+, A+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W) and Stretch on my P3B. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

nitewing76
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 1:23 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sun May 08, 2016 1:26 am

I could see the pi on my TV, but the screen still said "no signal".

For me, the only option that worked was to start over and ensure I ran Rufus 2.8 as Administrator.

JJPJZ
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 5:32 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Jul 13, 2016 5:36 am

I am new to Raspberry Pi and I just had the same problem. I ended up using NOOBS Lite and it is working great with me. I was getting 4 flashes in the ACT LED and it lead me to believe that the regular downloaded NOOBS was corrupt. After so many attempts to fix the problem, I threw the kitchen sink by trying the Lite version and it worked!

boberthemage
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:43 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:58 am

I am having a similar problem with my RPi 3 model B. It USED to work, but now i have a No Signal screen! I am using a HANNS-G computer monitor with a HDMI-DVI adaptor. My SD has NOOBS. I used these same devices when my RPi worked. I bought another SD, put NOOBS on it, but now I am having this problem.
I tried everything above (except Noobs Lite) and there is no "Config" file, probably because I am using NOOBS. And by the way, I don't want to have to purchase anything else.

Pi Chi
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:21 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL

Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:04 pm

Tirpitz wrote:
Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:59 am
I presume, you have installed your selected OS on SD card. Boot sector of the SD card is normally accessible from Windows, so you can edit file config.txt. What you maybe need?
Add into config.txt this line:

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
I experienced similar problem on one older LCD TV and this procedure helped.
No kidding, adding the hdmi_force_hotplug=1 line solved my issue. thanks for the pro tip. was hopelessly stuck with my benq with no clue of what i'm doing wrong despite double checking it.

EZH74
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 9:57 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:09 am

Hi,
I confirm that modifying config.txt

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
solve the problem for me.

LCD Screen BELINEA :
first boot (new image on SD) well detected, displaying full resolution perfectly
if i reboot, continue to works well (many reboot ok)
if shutdown (in cmd line or via menu) at restart no screen... (reflash the image and so on 3 times)

so modifiying config.txt on the same SD card used (i did it under win 10 under my laptop) after the 1st boot on pi
that solve the problem

Thks :D

gisbert
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:22 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:26 pm

I used the official pi zero case and the original hdmi to hdmi-mini adapter and this caused me a 'no signal' error.

removing the pi zero from its casing solved it.

Return to “Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidcoton, lerner, RaTTuS and 47 guests