ootsfan
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:20 pm

booting from class 10 SD doesn't work

Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:32 pm

I installed (at separate times) both Wheezy and ArchLinux onto an 8GB class 10 SD card. In each case the boot starts okay, but gets stuck. Is there something wrong with trying a class 10 SD card?
I have found that class 4 cards work fine (I've used up to 8GB).

While I'm here, how does one change the keyboard layout? Mine seems to be a British layout. I'm in Canada, and I'm used to the US layout.

Thanks
Mike

User avatar
pluggy
Posts: 3635
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 3:52 pm
Location: Barnoldswick, Lancashire,UK
Contact: Website

Re: booting from class 10 SD doesn't work

Fri Jan 04, 2013 4:13 pm

The performance difference will be marginal between the classes anyhow, the class is all about sustained write speed, not really relevant for an operating system which will be more about how fast it can read. Save yourself the money.....
sudo raspi-config
Image

4th option down.......
Don't judge Linux by the Pi.......
I must not tread on too many sacred cows......

timmoore46
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:36 pm

Re: booting from class 10 SD doesn't work

Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:13 pm

Oh well, my experience of a 16GB Class 10 Raspbian, was it was very reliable and a lot faster on a RPi that was delivered early June 2012 from Farnell.

I burnt it on W7 Pro OS and had a lot of hassle getting a clean .img file and the w32bit burning software, but the end results were repeatable good.

I did use all of the 16GB partition wise and fully update it.

:D :D :D

Some micro devices are mysterious in their ways !

:D

Tim
Last edited by timmoore46 on Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wirelessmonk
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:58 am
Location: The Colonies

Re: booting from class 10 SD doesn't work

Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:21 pm

I have two 8GB Class 10s used on a 256MB RPi and a 64GB (what?) Class 10 in use on a 512.

Haven't had a problem yet that I can attribute to the SD cards.

They're all SanDisk, btw. Quality control varies between manufacturers. Just like opinions between conumers. :P

lmcc
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 11:25 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Re: booting from class 10 SD doesn't work

Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:52 pm

ootsfan wrote:I installed (at separate times) both Wheezy and ArchLinux onto an 8GB class 10 SD card. In each case the boot starts okay, but gets stuck. Is there something wrong with trying a class 10 SD card?
I have found that class 4 cards work fine (I've used up to 8GB).

While I'm here, how does one change the keyboard layout? Mine seems to be a British layout. I'm in Canada, and I'm used to the US layout.

Thanks
Mike
Make sure you're powering your RPi with a good power supply. I was using a wimpy phone charger initially and had bad luck. When I switched to a good supply all my problems went away.

I'm using 32gig AData Class 10 cards without issue.

-L

PaulCheffus
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:51 pm
Location: Lincolnshire UK

Re: booting from class 10 SD doesn't work

Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:07 pm

Hi

Both my Pis are using Kingston 8GB class 10 cards and I haven't had an issue with either.

Cheers

Paul
Procrastination - The Thief of Time.

User avatar
sharow
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:24 am
Location: Tokyo

Re: booting from class 10 SD doesn't work

Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:22 pm

[quote="ootsfan"]I installed (at separate times) both Wheezy and ArchLinux onto an 8GB class 10 SD card. In each case the boot starts okay, but gets stuck. Is there something wrong with trying a class 10 SD card?
I have found that class 4 cards work fine (I've used up to 8GB).
[/quote]

what output run this?
https://gist.github.com/3971394 (require python)

I think you using SDR50(max 100MHz) SD card.
It will be stable to set emmc_clock=100 MHz, maybe..

I'm using SanDisk Extreme SDSDX-008G-X46(Class 10)@100MHz without issue.

[quote="ootsfan"]
While I'm here, how does one change the keyboard layout? Mine seems to be a British layout. I'm in Canada, and I'm used to the US layout.
[/quote]
$ loadkeys <mapfile name>
and mapfile contain /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/qwerty/

WillR12
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:32 pm

Re: booting from class 10 SD doesn't work

Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:55 pm

I run my RPi on an 8gb class 10 SD with no problems and very fast you must have a dodgy SD card

albatros
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: booting from class 10 SD doesn't work

Sat Jan 05, 2013 12:14 am

Hi ootsfan,

do you know this helpful page? http://elinux.org/RPi_SD_cards

hth

albatros

Return to “Beginners”