dcuste
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:56 pm

Simutaniously Runing HA-Bridge and HomeGenie

Thu Aug 22, 2019 6:50 pm

I did a step-by-step install to load heyu and HA-Bridge. HA-Bridge is now running so that I can operate my X-10 devices with Alexa. Now I'm looking to add a HomeGenie server onto my Raspberry Pi 3. Here are the instructions I hope to use... https://genielabs.github.io/HomeGenie/#/get_started. The RPi3 is connected to a lan cable and wifi. Each connection has its own IP and mac address. When I use my browser to open either IP address, it brings up the HA-Bridge home page. Here are my questions...

Is it even doable to install and run HomeGenie with the HA-Bridge on the same RPi3?

If so, will the HomeGenie app on my phone then be able to control my X-10 devices?

If the answer to the two questions above are yes, do I use putty to follow the instructions at https://genielabs.github.io/HomeGenie/#/get_started?

Will I eventually get to where if I put the LAN IP address into my PC browser, I'll go to the HA-Bridge home page and when I put the WiFi IP address, it will bring up the HomeGenie home page? If no, how do I switch between the two?

Sorry if these are really stupid questions. I'm very new to all this and am afraid if I do it by trial and error, I'll screw this up so bad that I'll never be able to get back to where I am now.

TIA,
Dave

User avatar
neilgl
Posts: 1283
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 8:36 pm
Location: Near Aston Martin factory

Re: Simutaniously Runing HA-Bridge and HomeGenie

Thu Aug 22, 2019 9:09 pm

Maybe make a copy of you current setup on a separate microSD card, then you can try new stuff but can go back if it is not working.

dcuste
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:56 pm

Re: Simutaniously Runing HA-Bridge and HomeGenie

Sun Aug 25, 2019 10:09 pm

Well that plan didn't go well. I got a new 32 GB SD card formated using my Windows 10 running the recommended SD card formatter program. When I tried copying the SD card that is running it appears two of the partitions are unreadable. The ones that are readable are labeled "boot" and "Recovery". Those two readable partitions are each less than 2 GB. So there at least 28GB that I can't read or copy. There was no option to partition the SD card with the recommended formatting tool, so I just stuck the boot partition folders/files in the root directory and the recovery files/folders in a folder labeled recovery. Using the new card doesn't boot up at all.

So how do I go about making a copy of a working SD card?

One other question.... I've been typing all these commands in manually using Putty. There has got to be a way to copy and paste this stuff. I tried using the standard windows ctrl C and ctrl V, but that isn't working for me. What is the trick and where do I go to read up on this kind of stuff?

T.I.A.

PhatFil
Posts: 1476
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:55 pm
Location: Oxford UK

Re: Simutaniously Runing HA-Bridge and HomeGenie

Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:28 am

an alternative solution to controlling x10 433mhz rf devices is to flash a £10 sonoff rf bridge with tasmota firmware, and then install further firmware upgrades and sniff the relevant codes... (its a convoluted but documented procedure)

https://github.com/arendst/Sonoff-Tasmo ... Bridge-433
https://github.com/Portisch/RF-Bridge-EFM8BB1

with this device x10 and many other 433mhz controls can be reduced to publishing a mqtt topic/payload. And you can also pick up 433mhz alarm codes when broadcast for use within your pi system..

I use a Tasmota/rf bridge myself but not for x10 control so i have not gone that extra mile, but support if needed can be found in the badly named SonoffUsers Google group https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/sonoffusers.

User avatar
neilgl
Posts: 1283
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 8:36 pm
Location: Near Aston Martin factory

Re: Simutaniously Runing HA-Bridge and HomeGenie

Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:07 pm

Use the pi built in sd card copier and a USB card writer not a PC. https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/anoth ... -raspbian/

Return to “Beginners”