Mazatlan

how many pi's

Mon Jul 22, 2019 5:01 am

I'm a newbie (68 y/o), and I'd like to know how many Pi's would it take to have a media server, home network, and VPN on one or multiple Pi's?

Is one enough? I just purchased a 4GB Pi. So far, really cool. I'm not well versed in electronics, or computer speak, so any advice as to reference materials suited for 5 y/o's (me) would be appreciated. :ugeek:
:ugeek:

epoch1970

Re: how many pi's

Mon Jul 22, 2019 10:33 am

Yes one will be enough.

In general the limiting factor in applications integration is the software complexity of the target platform. The more applications the more potential interactions, the less stability and ease of maintenance.
So after integrating 3 or 4 "critical" apps you give up and install the next one on another platform. Or you start using virtualisation in one form or another.

What you describe is something like a network router/VPN + one application, not complicated really. One single Pi will be (more than) fine to handle the workload and maintenance shouldn't be much of a problem either. You made a wise choice with a Pi model B, it is the easiest platform to use, given its multiple built-in interfaces.

Have fun ;)
"S'il n'y a pas de solution, c'est qu'il n'y a pas de problème." Les Shadoks, J. Rouxel

kennyc

Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:35 am

It's a lot like being Rich or Thin. You can never be too Rich, too Thin, or have too many Raspberry Pi's!!

I have two at the moment both Pi 4's - an 1Gb and a 4Gb. I'm finding the 4Gb wonderful but the 1Gb virtually unusable as a desktop/browser as it is so slow...

Vast difference in behavior/usability. I'm tempted to get a 2Gb just for comparison purposes.

the 1Gb is a replacement for another 1Gb that seemed to crash the browser constantly...the new one is not crashing but becomes unusable in how slow it operates as a browser/desktop. :(

I've not tried it other than initially as a desktop (google news, mail, tunein radio, various forums etc) ...