JimmyPP
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:03 am

802.11AC? defaults to N?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 11:41 am

99% linux noob here, I've only used linux on older computers booting from a live USB stick for internet browsing.

using the raspian from the NOOB installer, from what I can tell it is fully up to date with apt-get update/apt-get dist-upgrade.

Internet speeds lead me to believe the WIFI is operating on 802.11N(25 megabit down) instead of the 120 megabit down I normally get from my win10 desktop's built in wireless network card(which definitely connects via AC)

Do I have to manually force it to AC? Clicking on the wifi icon only shows that its on 5GHZ, doesn't specify if its N or AC.

Thanks.

Andyroo
Posts: 3776
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 12:49 am
Location: Lincs U.K.

Re: 802.11AC? defaults to N?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 11:54 am

Would help the know what model Pi you have :D
Need Pi spray - these things are breeding in my house...

JimmyPP
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:03 am

Re: 802.11AC? defaults to N?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 12:18 pm

Haha, my bad, RPi4 4gb

User avatar
bensimmo
Posts: 4125
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:02 pm
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: 802.11AC? defaults to N?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 1:31 pm

JimmyPP wrote:
Fri Jul 19, 2019 11:41 am
99% linux noob here, I've only used linux on older computers booting from a live USB stick for internet browsing.

using the raspian from the NOOB installer, from what I can tell it is fully up to date with apt-get update/apt-get dist-upgrade.

Internet speeds lead me to believe the WIFI is operating on 802.11N(25 megabit down) instead of the 120 megabit down I normally get from my win10 desktop's built in wireless network card(which definitely connects via AC)

Do I have to manually force it to AC? Clicking on the wifi icon only shows that its on 5GHZ, doesn't specify if its N or AC.

Thanks.
You've only got one antenna (I think) on the Pi, so speeds are restricted. Much like a Phone etc.
So it'll be AC450/AC600 depending on how they wish to market it (I think that's it)
Here are the ideal testing setup speed from MagPi testing
Image
114mbps is about 14MB/s

What are you testing with ?
So if you still think you are low, try moving it around or seeing what the router says the connection speed is (if it shows it) (what router is it)

JimmyPP
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:03 am

Re: 802.11AC? defaults to N?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:17 pm

I'm testing with speedtest.net, desktop showed 118 megabit, seconds later RPi showed around 45 that time... modem is an arris SBG7580AC, however it doesn't show you the negotiated speed(or standard, just that its on 5GHZ) in the router settings. Is there a way to view negotiated speed, or wireless standard on the Pi side?

However, in the 2.4GHZ client list is "Express" I would think both would show raspberrypi if it was on AC? I also can't think of what this device could be... Maybe one of my neighbors is on my WIFI :evil:

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20155
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: 802.11AC? defaults to N?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:29 pm

JimmyPP wrote:
Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:17 pm
I'm testing with speedtest.net, desktop showed 118 megabit, seconds later RPi showed around 45 that time... modem is an arris SBG7580AC, however it doesn't show you the negotiated speed(or standard, just that its on 5GHZ) in the router settings. Is there a way to view negotiated speed, or wireless standard on the Pi side?

However, in the 2.4GHZ client list is "Express" I would think both would show raspberrypi if it was on AC? I also can't think of what this device could be... Maybe one of my neighbors is on my WIFI :evil:

iperf3 is a better network speed test, and it is in the Raspbian repositories:

https://iperf.fr/
adieu

Asus CS10 Chromebit / HP Envy 4500 Wireless Printer / Raspberry Pi Model 2B v1.1 / RealVNC Software...

User avatar
bensimmo
Posts: 4125
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:02 pm
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: 802.11AC? defaults to N?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:58 pm

Just a thought, does your router do band-steering?
That's often on when there is just one SSID. I use it.

iwconfig
At the terminal is what you can check the connection with


Edit,
From room next door,
40.4Mbps @speedtest.net (250mbps line) a bit later 60mpbs


iwconfig
5.28GHz
Rate is ~135 Mb/s tx-Power 31dBm
(but drops low if it hasn't done anything for a while.
i.e. before I ran the test it was ~ 30Mb/s -35dB)

Link and Sig level are the same no matter what.
Link qual =40/70
Sig Lev -68dBm


There is also
iw
but I've not really used it, it'll give you the channel, width etc
Try
iw wlan0 info

And other options like
sudo iw wlan0 scan

JimmyPP
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:03 am

Re: 802.11AC? defaults to N?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 7:17 pm

From what I can tell, no band steering(2 SSID's, one for 2.4ghz, one for 5ghz)

Code: Select all

wlan0     IEEE 802.11  ESSID:"*_5G"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:5.2 GHz  Access Point: 
          Bit Rate=292.5 Mb/s   Tx-Power=31 dBm   
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:on
          Link Quality=58/70  Signal level=-52 dBm  

Best speed I've seen from speedtest.net is 55 megabit.

Return to “Beginners”