Simon001
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 8:28 pm

Newby and I might be out of my depth

Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:11 am

Hi all
I'm new to the Raspberry Pi computer and in the space of a couple of days I have read a huge amount of articles and posts and I'm hooked.
I know my way around a computer but nothing about programming.
I am thinking of building a sort of mini super computer. Iv been looking at stacking 4 or 8 pi4''s and making a 4 to 8 node computer as I'm going to be doing some heavy signal processing and a graphic heavy oscilliscope.
Iv been looking at various YouTube videos and know what I want in the hardware but setting it all up will be my stumbling block.
Has anyone done this sort of thing here and can tell me what to look out for?

Many thanks
Simon

User avatar
neilgl
Posts: 2191
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 8:36 pm
Location: Near Aston Martin factory

Re: Newby and I might be out of my depth

Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:55 am

Maybe take a look at this:
https://projects.raspberrypi.org/en/pro ... -an-octapi
Though they reference a power hub that is not available, so just use several standard pi power supplies.

Hughes220
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:09 am

Re: Newby and I might be out of my depth

Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:14 am

Use this link : https://projects.raspberrypi.org/en/pro ... -an-octapi


you can get all solution here regarding your question..
Last edited by Hughes220 on Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
IOTON
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 1:00 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Newby and I might be out of my depth

Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:25 am

Simon001 wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:11 am
Hi all
I'm new to the Raspberry Pi computer and in the space of a couple of days I have read a huge amount of articles and posts and I'm hooked.
I know my way around a computer but nothing about programming.
I am thinking of building a sort of mini super computer. Iv been looking at stacking 4 or 8 pi4''s and making a 4 to 8 node computer as I'm going to be doing some heavy signal processing and a graphic heavy oscilliscope.
Iv been looking at various YouTube videos and know what I want in the hardware but setting it all up will be my stumbling block.
Has anyone done this sort of thing here and can tell me what to look out for?

Many thanks
Simon
You will be stuck on the sampling stage. For hi speed sampling you will need hi speed ADC and hi speed bus from it, such PCIE.

Return to “Beginners”