Matt35

Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ is SUPER slow

Sat Jun 15, 2019 5:51 pm

Hey !
Total newbie here.
I've just purchased and installed a raspberry pi 3 and the damn thing is not usable
Loading a single page take 3 minutes, youtube videos stutter and stop then restart and restop, it freezes whenever I do a single thing
Is there some sort of tweaking needed ?
Of course I updated Raspbian

Maybe it's because of the hardware :
I installed and I boot Raspbian via USB (16go Kingston), I have no SD card in there

Should I buy a good SD card or a better USB key?

In advance, many thanks

(sorry for bad english, not a native)

neilgl

Re: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ is SUPER slow

Sat Jun 15, 2019 10:38 pm

I would get a micro SD card and install raspbian on that.
On my pi3 I can watch YouTube no problem e.g. Black Sabbath Snowblind.

LTolledo

Sat Jun 15, 2019 11:23 pm

since you already got your RPi3B+ booting from USB drive....

try enabling the swap file, and set it to 1024MB...

at the moment am posting this on a RPi3B+ , in Chromium with 6 tabs open (am able to open more without problems)
and watched YouTube videos on this RPi3B+ for almost 10 hours yesterday.... and the videos played nicely....
"Don't come to me with 'issues' for I don't know how to deal with those
Come to me with 'problems' and I'll help you find solutions"

Some people be like:
"Help me! Am drowning! But dont you dare touch me nor come near me!"

HawaiianPi

Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:06 am

Try it with an "A1" performance rated micro SD card, like the SanDisk Ultra A1 series. It should be much faster than a typical USB flash drive. And don't bother adding swap, as suggested above, that will not make your Pi faster.

What are you using for a power supply?

Post the output of the following commands:

Code: Select all

cat /sys/firmware/devicetree/base/model;echo

vcgencmd get_throttled