spartucus48

using the pi

Tue May 21, 2019 8:52 pm

hey guys, im new to the pi. like what can i do? im not used to command lines but i want to be.

B.Goode

Re: using the pi

Tue May 21, 2019 9:03 pm

spartucus48 wrote:
Tue May 21, 2019 8:52 pm
hey guys, im new to the pi. like what can i do? im not used to command lines but i want to be.

Greetings Tyler,

You can't be that new, you have been asking questions about it for nearly 5 years...

To learn about using the Linux command line you could try reading the book that the Raspberry Pi Foundation publishers have produced:
https://store.rpipress.cc/products/conq ... nd-edition

spartucus48

Tue May 21, 2019 10:07 pm

I bareky use the pi though. can it be used as my primary computer?

HawaiianPi

Tue May 21, 2019 10:34 pm

You can use the Desktop versions of Raspbian for a windowed GUI experience, and commands can still be used in a terminal. Or you can go with the Lite version of Raspbian for a lighter weight OS with a command line only interface.

Raspbian is based on Debian GNU/Linux and there are loads of online tutorials for using the CLI and Bash. You can write Bash scripts to perform complex operations if you commonly use multiple commands in succession. Any software that requires a GUI (Graphical User Interface) will not work in Raspbian Lite by default, but there are lots of programs and utilities that don't require a GUI and run fine from the command line.

For example, I have one Pi3 configured as a Minecraft 1.12.2 survival multiplayer server for myself and a small group of friends. The server is run without a GUI on a headless 3B+ (no keyboard, mouse ot screen) under Raspbian Lite. I control and administer the server via SSH and Screen.

The server was started in 2017 on a 3B and then upgraded to a 3B+ in early 2018.
The screenshot above was taken on my gaming laptop while logged into the Creeper Pie server (server render distance = 10).

spartucus48 wrote: