aaronpriest

Can't get a virtual keyboard to work at login with the official touchscreen

Sun Apr 07, 2019 1:46 pm

I'm new to Raspberry Pi so go easy on me, haha!

First problem:
I bought a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ with the official 7" touchscreen display, which states, "Truly Interactive - the latest software drivers will support a virtual ‘on screen’ keyboard, so there is no need to plug in a keyboard and mouse."

Where is this virtual keyboard with the latest software drivers?

I've read every thread I could find on virtual keyboards, particularly before login for multiple users and passwords. And I just can't get any of them to work. I've updated the software, I've updated the kernel / firmware, I've installed Florence and at-spi2-core, I've edited /etc/lightdm/lightdm-gtk-greeter.conf and added the following:

Code: Select all

show-indicators=~language;~a11y;~session;~power                                                                                                                                             
keyboard=florence
And I still have zero keyboard at the login prompt. Tips? Ideas?

Second problem:
I accidently clicked the - button on the Florence keyboard which shrunk it down to the size of a postage stamp. I can't make it larger anymore. I click the + key and it just crashes or closes. I've uninstalled and reinstalled Florence, but there is a config file somewhere that remembers this setting, so that doesn't reset it back to defaults. I've tried several other keyboards, but none were better than Florence anyway, nor did they work at the login prompt either no matter what I tried. How do I reset Florence back to regular size? None of the options in preferences seem to change the size.

Third problem, or more of an observation...