kdeuler
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 8:07 pm

Hostname option missing from raspi-config

Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:15 pm

Hi. I'm trying to change the hostname of my RPi 3 using raspi-config. However, I'm not seeing a "hostname" option in the main menu or any submenus, contrary to guidance on various websites. Has this option been removed?

I installed Raspian Lite directly (not via noobs).

Thanks!

epoch1970
Posts: 2018
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 9:33 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: Hostname option missing from raspi-config

Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:22 pm

Curious.
But you can work around the issue easily: "sudo nano /etc/hostname", save and reboot.
"S'il n'y a pas de solution, c'est qu'il n'y a pas de problème." Les Shadoks, J. Rouxel

DirkS
Posts: 9037
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Hostname option missing from raspi-config

Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:25 pm

On current Raspbian it should be 2 (Network options) then N1 (hostname)

DirkS
Posts: 9037
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Hostname option missing from raspi-config

Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:26 pm

epoch1970 wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:22 pm
Curious.
But you can work around the issue easily: "sudo nano /etc/hostname", save and reboot.
It should also be in /etc/hosts (on the line with 127.0.1.1)

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4581
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: Hostname option missing from raspi-config

Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:59 pm

DirkS wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:26 pm
epoch1970 wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:22 pm
Curious.
But you can work around the issue easily: "sudo nano /etc/hostname", save and reboot.
It should also be in /etc/hosts (on the line with 127.0.1.1)
FWIW, as per the "old method" in my, out of date** (again) webpage here: http://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi ... tName.html
Trev.
** but, indirectly, "corrected" (new method) here: http://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi ... Tools.html
Still running Raspbian Jessie on some older Pi's (an A, B1, B2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W) but Stretch on my P3B+, P3B, B+, A+ and a B2. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

Andyroo
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 12:49 am
Location: Side of the hill in Lincolnshire

Re: Hostname option missing from raspi-config

Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:05 pm

The Pi Hut has a nice summary https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... e-hostname for the command line jockeys.
Need Pi spray - these things are breeding in my house...

DirkS
Posts: 9037
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Hostname option missing from raspi-config

Fri Sep 21, 2018 10:27 pm

Andyroo wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:05 pm
The Pi Hut has a nice summary https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... e-hostname for the command line jockeys.
unfortunately it's wrong...
It points to the line starting with 127.0.0..1 in /etc/hosts. That should be 127.0.1.1 as I stated above.

Andyroo
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 12:49 am
Location: Side of the hill in Lincolnshire

Re: Hostname option missing from raspi-config

Fri Sep 21, 2018 10:39 pm

DirkS wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 10:27 pm
Andyroo wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:05 pm
The Pi Hut has a nice summary https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... e-hostname for the command line jockeys.
unfortunately it's wrong...
It points to the line starting with 127.0.0..1 in /etc/hosts. That should be 127.0.1.1 as I stated above.

Thought that bug was fixed a long time ago going by https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=316099

I know 127.0.0.1 works fine in MINT as that’s how the box upstairs is configured :D I don’t have a spare Pi to try at the moment though.
Need Pi spray - these things are breeding in my house...

Return to “Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Paeryn and 20 guests