leandroid

Guide on powering Raspberry Pi 3 B+ with ATX PSU?

Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:46 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm planning to use a Raspberry Pi 3 model B+ with the OctoPi OS to handle my 3d printer jobs.
Since the printer has a heated bed, it is already being fed using a 500W ATX PSU. Thought I might as well use it to supply the power to the Raspberry Pi 3 B+ (that has been bought and is underway).
Problem is that I have NO knowledge whatsoever of electronics so I dont even know where to start?

I've read a few forum posts, and the idea seems possible, but I haven't found any guide that can tell me what to do considering I'm a newb.

Does anyone know of any resources that could show me how exactly to do that? Or where I can learn how to figure out how, so that I can maybe do a beginner-friendly guide in return (to give back to the community)?

Thanks in advance!

pcmanbob

Re: Guide on powering Raspberry Pi 3 B+ with ATX PSU?

Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:26 pm

Hi.

First off it would depend on how stable the 5v supply is on your ATX psu and then else is using it , as if you are driving motors from it you could find its subject to sudden voltage dips which your pi wont like.

Second how you actually connect this to the pi will depend on how the ATX psu has been modified to work with the 3d printer, as we don't know this we can say how you would make the connection.

Unless you can provide a lot more detail on what cables or output options are available on the ATX psu its going to be impossible for anyone to give you precise instructions on how to do this.

The basic idea is to take a 5V and ground cable from your ATX psu from some thing like a Molex 4 pin power supply connector and wire them to a micro usb plug so that you can connect it to your pi.
Red being 5v.
Black being ground.