as1mov48

entering the logical OR operation (pipe symbol) in terminal

Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:09 am

I'm totally new to Linux but I'm really exited about its potential.
At present attempting to use a 2.5" SATA H/D as a boot device and so far i've got all the info I need.
One thing I don't have a clue about is the logical OR operation (pipe symbol). How does one enter this symbol using the terminal window.

ie. echo program_usb_boot_mode=1 OR sudo tee -a /boot/config.txt

How do I express the 'OR operation' as the pipe symbol?
Thanks in anticipation.
as1mov :?:

DirkS

Re: entering the logical OR operation (pipe symbol) in terminal

Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:12 am

See the response to your other post...
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=213827&p=1327636#p1327646

See @BGoode's post below
Last edited by DirkS on Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

B.Goode

Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:24 am

[Superseding the response from @DirkS, my reply in your other thread is now appended below.. ]

On a UK keyboard (I have no experience of any other) the pipe is the Shifted ('uppercase') version of the \ backslash.

If your keyboard configuration does not match the setting used by the operating system it would be a good idea to fix that soon, before it causes further confusion. There is an option in the raspi-config utility to do this.

But finally: this 'one liner' is simply one way of editting the config.txt file to append the program_usb_boot_mode directive. It is possible to simply use a standard editor to modify the file /boot/config.txt to append program_usb_boot_mode=1 as a new final line.

hippy

Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:01 am

On a UK keyboard there are often two vertical bar pipe characters; one which is '¦' above the '\' key at the bottom left which is a split vertical bar, and '|' which is to the left of the '1' key, along with the back-tick '`' and '¬', which is a non-split vertical bar.