finnbo11

Radio Receiver

Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:06 pm

Hi forums!
I'm a complete beginner at raspberry pi and I'm very very slowly working towards creating a pipboy from fallout. I want to start with trying to get a radio working on its own. I've looked at a few tutorials but I can't get what I want. I want to use a tea5767 chip as it has an inbuilt amplifier. Cutting to the chase I want to be able to change the frequency with a potentiometer but then it also display the frequency in a window. Please can someone help!?!?!

Z80 Refugee

Re: Radio Receiver

Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:15 am

finnbo11 wrote:
I want to use a tea5767 chip as it has an inbuilt amplifier.
I've had a quick squint and the examples seem to be for Arduino. Be aware that the Arduino used 5V but the RPi used 3.3V (even if 5V is available from the GPIO and USB etc). You will need to make sure the electrical interface is OK (or adapted) for communicating between the RPi and the TEA5767 module, but otherwise anything you can do with an Arduino should be possible with an RPi. I say "should be", because the Arduino is just a microcontroller, so it runs your code and that's all, but the RPi usually runs a full-blown operating system so there is all sorts of stuff going on all the time and you have to be careful if you have critical timings.

That said, serial communications are handled with hardware so it shouldn't be a problem.
finnbo11 wrote:
Cutting to the chase I want to be able to change the frequency with a potentiometer
That won't be so easy. There are no analogue inputs on the RPi, so you will either need an external circuit to do it (HAT) or think of something else. A rotary encoder may be the way to go, so that the shaft rotation is fed into the RPi as a series of pulses which you read in a program to control frequency. All you need to do then is send the frequency to the radio module and display it on the screen.

finnbo11

Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:41 am