Halfloaf

RP zero as server to SGI workstation

Mon May 21, 2018 1:47 pm

Hi,

I'm a hobbyist user of old SGI workstations and software, I currently have an Octane and O2 that I use for some vintage 3D software.

My SGIs are currently served via a Debian install on a spare drive in my dual Xeon 2010 MacPro. In order to reduce my electrical footprint, I thought about setting up a RP zero as a NFS server and remote desktop client for my SGI machines. Currently, there is no planned community support for HTTPS enabled browsers on IRIX and as such the best means to browse the web is via a remote desktop on these old machines.

The SGI's have the usual internet / networking capabilities such as ssh, rdesktop, NFS etc.

Would this be doable?
Last edited by Halfloaf on Mon May 21, 2018 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

epoch1970

Re: RP zero as server to SGI workstation

Mon May 21, 2018 6:25 pm

Cool, I have fond memories of an O2.
Frankly if you turn the machine into an X Terminal, you want as best networking and IO/s as you can get, and a Pi won't do. Especially not a Pi0.
Something like a PCEngines APU might do (good IO/s, CPU not so much), but that is already more expensive, larger and more thirsty than an RPi.
"S'il n'y a pas de solution, c'est qu'il n'y a pas de problème." Les Shadoks, J. Rouxel

B.Goode

Mon May 21, 2018 6:40 pm

Greetings.

I probably can't help in any practical way, but among my many indiscretions I spent some time as a sysadmn for a collection (not a cluster) of Silicon Graphics hardware - a headless 'mainframe' and several desktop workstations - running irix.

The difference in price for the differential in performance is so striking that I would strongly suggest starting out with a top of the range RPi3B+. Apart from anything else it comes with better-than-fast-ethernet networking built in to the hardware.

Good luck!

Halfloaf

Mon May 21, 2018 7:35 pm