KenK73

First Pi Project - Multi-Timezone Clock

Sun Apr 15, 2018 1:51 am

Hello all,

I am looking for some guidance on my first Raspberry Pi project. What I am attempting to do is create a very large, multi-timezone clock using very large "7 segment" displays. These are not your typical LED displays. I am using some cheap clocks off of ebay (8.5" x 3") as purchasing large (>2") 7 segment LED's are quite expensive. I can get these clocks for about $15 each all day long. I will probably have to re-wire the display in them, I'm already prepared for that. If I cant use their SMD mounted LED's directly I will put in my own 5mm white LED's, but that's not my main issue.

This is my first real electronics project in some time. I'm no electrical engineer, but I have had military and college electronics courses. I have not done anything with a Pi before and my previous mbed project didnt exactly turn out as hoped.

I have a Model 1 B+ Pi which I hope is more than enough for this project.

Current thoughts:
I am not using the clocks in their consumer configuration because it is a pain in the ass to set them all, and nearly impossible to keep them in sync. I will black-out the AM/PM lights as this will be used in 24-hour mode only.

Since these clocks will all share the same minute info, I am hoping I can just tie those digits together across all 7 clocks. Not as flexible, but reduces the complexity (I think).

Some of these time zones do enjoy Daylight Savings Time (DST) so I have to factor that in for 3 of the displays. Might need a DST light to indicate if its in affect.

I am handy with Bash/Perl, not so much with Python. I can easily use the linux OS date commands to extract the data from the system clock. I am not sure how I get this info to the display.

The length of this clock will be nearly 7 feet when completed, so there will be some significant wire runs, which introduces resistance and interference. I plan to keep the pi in the middle of the clock.