zassx

Measuring speed using IR LED Phototransistor

Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:01 am

Hey there guys.

I am relatively new to Raspberry PI scene. Well I have some experience in software development but none when it comes to electrical circuits.
Me and my mates came up with an idea of building a speed sensor to measure speeds of some objects passing through. We are talking about small difference between sensors, around 15-20cm max!

I have one Raspberry PI v2 at disposal so I figured out I should come up with a prototype, but actually don't know how to begin with making a circuit.
I found few sensors that could actually be good for our case: PT334-6B/IR333C-A Phototransistor.

So the idea is of creating some kind of lightgate, so when the object passed through and IR changes that, we know that there was an interrupt. When this happens we will save the entry time and then again save the time when the object is through. Calculating that time and knowing the width of the object we can figure out the speed.

The problem is that if we have that sensors, we don't know how to create a circuit. This is where I would need help from you.
Do we need additional elements to make things work or will putting those leds and receivers in breadboard work? If anyone is so kind to help us out creating a scheme, we would be very grateful. Thank you in advance!

pcmanbob

Re: Measuring speed using IR LED Phototransistor

Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:09 pm

May be this example I found on the web will give you a starting point.

http://deddieslab.blogspot.co.uk/2014/0 ... ry-pi.html
Please only ask questions in the forum I will not answer questions sent to me directly via PM
Remember we want information.......................no information no help
The use of crystal balls & mind reading is not supported

zassx

Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:31 pm

Thanks, I already came across this project and already got all the useful info.