mono78v

Get by password and run a cmd on startup? pls help

Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:46 pm

Hi Guys, I'm pretty new to this and looking for some advice. I've got a Pi3 with a 64bit version of stretch lite which I'm currently messing about with mining a cryptocurrency called Magi Coin (yes.. yes.. I know.. its not worth it.. I'm not going to make any money... etc...etc). I'm really only doing this as I have an interest in Crypto and want to play and learn about my new Pi.
So, this is my issue. I basically followed this tutorial https://www.novaspirit.com/2017/10/19/c ... ining-sbc/ which worked a treat. Someone then suggested I try the 64bit (unofficial) version of stretch lite which I have done and works well + gives me a better hashrate than the official 32bit version however my problem is it crashes every few days. I thought I could maybe get my Pi to reboot every night as then if it did crash it would sort its self out. I believe I can do this in crontab?? It then occurred to me that if I did that I would need to firstly log in , then start it mining again.

So I guess this is a two part question.
1) how do I get my Pi to auto log on? Maybe I can't? Could I just remove the password? But is that a bad idea? guessing compromises security?
2) when my pi boots I have to type in the following at the cmd to start it working:
$ cd wolf-m7m-cpuminer
$ ./minerd -a m7mhash -o stratum+tcp............................................................etc................

So basically, is there a way I can use crontab to reboot every day, auto log in, and then open the wolf-m7m-cpuminer directory, then finally enter the command to start mining..

Is this going to be tricky. Keep in mind I'm a total beginner. Any help would be great. I found something online about editing /etc/rc.local but getting no-where with that.

Thank You :)
Chris.

Ace Rimmer

Re: Get by password and run a cmd on startup? pls help

Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:08 am